Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Unanswered: Newbie to Informix db

Hi

I am new to Informix dbs and would appreciate if you could help me understand how to compile .ACE files to .ARC files?

Like command?

Make? What would the complete syntax be?

I also have some .ACT files. What are these?

Regards
    Shajju

Haven't worked with ACE reports in many years but I assume you're working with some version of INFORMIX SE (standard engine)?

You can compile ACE reports using the isql editor tool. We don't have SE on any server right now but I'm pretty sure if you login as informix and your environment variables are set correctly you would navigate to the directory with the ACE reports and key in isql & press enter.

You'll be presented with a ring menu and you should choose REPORT. I don't remember what you'll see from this point forward ... it's been too many years ... but you'll see something like EDIT or MODIFY or COMPILE or something, you should be able to figure it out from there.

There's also a command line tool 'saceprep' that will let you compile ace files to arc files without using isql.

Thanks for the info guys.

I can navigate to the folder where the .ace, .arc and .act files are present.

I will amend the .ace with the new counters that need to be retreived from the db and then:

type isql (in the same folder) and press enter?

or

type saceprep.ace report name and press enter?

Regards
    Shajju

Would the SACEPREP tool be available /user/bin?

I checked this location but couldn't see it.

Hi all

Been away for a couple of months.

Am still facing the issue of finding out how to compile ACE reports into ARC files

Could someone please help me with this?

Where would I find this SACEPREP tool?
    How exactly would I use isql to compile the ACE report?

Thanks
    Shajju

Provided Answers: 1
    Hi shajju,

you probably have a RUNTIME licence of I-SQL and not a DEVELOPPERlicense.