Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Selecting a DBMS to Learn

I would like to know what DBMS you guys would suggest learning and why? Oracle, SQL Server, etc. I am a college student interested in perusing a career as a production DBA. I have had a class on databases specifically already and the topic comes up frequently in other classes/projects. In my database class we learned SQL and used Oracle, primarily working in SQL Plus and just wrote the SQL statements to create tables, run queries etc.

I would learn the platform Twitter just used to replace Ruby on Rails on it's backend. Scala? I am not sure it is a RDBMS. I just here a lot about multi core usage...
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

it's not a RDBMS. Whoops.
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

Quote Originally Posted by Hoffer View Post
    I would like to know what DBMS you guys would suggest learning and why?
    mysql

because it's free, it's dead simple to install (even a non-DBA like me can do it), really easy to use (if you install a front end app like HeidiSQL), and, more importantly, it's so ubiquitous
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL