Thread: DB2 CLOB fields

Question Unanswered: DB2 CLOB fields

Hello Everyone,

I am new to DB2 and just started reading some of its concepts.
    I have a problem in one of my projects which I am working on:
    => I have a table in which my user has created 12 CLOB fields with length as (99999), will this have any performance hit in future, considering the fact that we will have lot of data in this table?
    => Now after discussion user is ready to reduce this to each field of 4k length which means total of (12*4 = 48k ) and as per my reading of DB2 this will go beyond the pagefile size which is currently set to 32k. Am I correct inunderstanding this?

Now since CLOB field length is not counted in pagefile so CLOB is the best choice but then I suspect it would have a performance hit. Is there any other way I can deal this problem?

Thanks & Regards
    Piyush

Provided Answers: 1
    Generally speaking, it doesn't matter if you define LOB columns with a greater length - only the actual amount of space needed for each value will be allocated. In other words, it will make no difference if you alter the table and set LOB columns to a shorter length, as long as the actual data remain the same.

In DB2 9.7 you have an option to store LOB data "inline", that is, as a part of the actual table row (within the limits of the page size, of course). If that is the case, LOBs will be accessed as fast as the rest of columns. Otherwise, LOB data are stored in separate disk structures and are not cached in bufferpools, which means that an extra I/O operation is required to fetch them.

Another disadvantage of large LOB values is that they would require extra log space, unless the LOB columns are defined as NOT LOGGED. Keep in mind though that NOT LOGGED LOBs carry a risk of losing data in a crash.

Question DB2 CLOB fields

So if I understand this correctly. It is not good to have 12 CLOB type fields here as extra I/O is required for the fetch operation.