Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: how to merge different location dbs at one location

    I am new in db2, i want to know is it possible to merge different sites databases at one site. What are the steps to perform the whole procedure. Kindly also share helping material.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    It is not very clear what you are after? Please give more details.
    Also include your OS platform, hardware and DB2 Version

    -
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    how to merge different location dbs at one location

    DB2 v8.1 on Linux platform.

    One instance of database A is at one site and another db2 database B instance is at some other site. Now we have to merge database A & B at third site. how this all will be performed?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    335
    Do you want to merge both Databases into a new Database?
    Or do you simply want to run both databases on the new Box.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    how to merge different location dbs at one location

    I want to merge both databases into a new database....

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Create the new database and use db2move to copy all user and/or application tables from the old databases.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    how to merge different location dbs at one location

    Okay thanks. Both databases have same objects (tables ,views etc), i want to merge old databases tables data into the new database tables like we append rows in oracle. how i can perform the merging operations of two databases into the 3rd database (having same table etc) using db2move?

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    how to merge different location dbs at one location

    While performing import in oracle, we can mention whether to insert new rows or update (append) the existing rows. I want to perform all these operations in db2.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •