Question Unanswered: Connecting VB, to php & MySQL?

Hi all,

I am a beginner in PhP and mysql.
    I am having trouble with connecting my Visual Basic Windows Program, to my php script.

I am using Visual Studio 2010 and i am having serious troubles with this code.

Heres My Code

PHP Code:

<?PHP

//Database Information

$dbhost = "localhost";
    $dbname = "MYDATABASE";
    $dbuser = "MYDETAILS";
    $dbpass = "MYPASS";

//Connect to database

mysql_connect ( $dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass)or die("Could not connect: ".mysql_error());
    mysql_select_db($dbname) or die(mysql_error());

$username = $_GET['username'];
    $query = "INSERT INTO users2 (username) VALUES ('$username' )";
    $result = mysql_query($query);
    $rows = mysql_affected_rows($result);
    echo "good";
    ?>

VB Code:

Public Class Register

Dim Downloaded As Object
    Dim INetControl As Object

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cmdSave.Click
    Downloaded = INetControl.OpenURL("http://76.164.196.202/~evenbala/sqltest.php?username=" & username1.Text)
    End Sub
    End Class

My vb code, was taking from another post for vb6, i think. Basically what im looking to do is make a register form and soon a login form.... Connected to my websites database. And since my host doesnt have remote MySQL setup i am having a "ball ache" with this.

Please Help Me With This, Before I Have No Hair Left

Provided Answers: 1
    All that PHP script does is dump usernames into a database.