Unanswered: Need a Database Tutorial

Hi, all. I used to be an avid database programmer during the dBase III days, when we used flat .dbf files. It was simple.

I understand coding. I understand fields, types and keys. I understand relations.

What I don't get is the drastic change in mechanics since the old days. Things like access strings, links, adapters, JET vs. OLE, etc. This stuff just did not exist and most tutorials seem to assume it is already known. Not to mention the differences in features between MySQL, SQLLite, Access, etc. and why you might pick one over the other.

I call all this the mechanics (the under the hood stuff). Does anyone know of a good tutorial, so I can get past square one and start some coding?

For example, in Vis. C#, if you want to link to a database, it asks what type data model I want to use. Dataset or Entity Data. What are these? That is one question. It assumes you already have a database created. What tools would I use to create what kinds of databases? That is another. The list goes on, but all this stuff is just mechanics.

Thanks.

Provided Answers: 1
    To understand the mechanics of these systems, you would need tutorials on each of the systems. I doubt you would find a single tome that would teach you how to administer a dozen different platforms.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

It does seem to look that way. What would be a good tutorial to give a brief overview of the qualities of each of the platforms and where they can be employed (for example, I plan to use C#)?