Question Unanswered: Access appropriate for this application?

Hi everyone,

I have basic knowledge of databases and basic knowledge of MS Access. I am not a database professional by any means.

I have a specific application in mind for a database. It will initially have a total of 7 users. These 7 users may all be querying the DB concurrently. One of those users will be an administrator, and one of them will responsible for data entry.

Therefore, there will be 2 users capable of editing data and 7 users capable of querying data.

The database can be expected to hold several thousand records in a primary table its first year of operation, and the number of new records added will increase year on year. Secondary tables will not hold more than several hundred records, at least in the first year.

It is my humble and uninformed understanding that an MS Access database would be an appopriate DBMS to use in this situation.

I would very much appreciate the input of more experienced users about

1. Is MS Access an appropriate DBMS to use in this situation? If not, what is a more appropriate DBMS?

2. How would you suggest deploying the database to achieve the query and data entry objectives above?

3. Am I betraying such a lack of knowledge that such an application may be beyond my reach?

Cheers for any replies,

Provided Answers: 14
    0. Volume of data
    The number of rows (records) is only one of the parameters to consider. The other one being the size of the data you intend to store into the database. An Access database (.mdb file) is limited to a size of 2GB but you could experience problems (read: data corruption and crashes) before reaching this limit. Also, storing BLOBs (Binary Large OBjects, such as pictures, sound tracks, etc.) is not recommended.

1. Adequacy of Access