Unanswered: Microsoft SQL Performance

Hi Guys,

I am running into a performance problem with our MS SQL database. Admist doing some hardware benchmark investigation I have found the following HDD bechmark using HD Tune.

benchmark read graph
    random read graph

I have a few questions:
    - As we get our server hosting via a Web Hosting company, does this data look normal for a production server?
    - Would we see a benifit moving to SSD for Database performance?

Any insight into this problem/ resolution would be much appreciated as I am still learning.
    Last edited by Eric the Red; 08-06-11 at 16:14.

Please excuse my wording, but that disk performance suck. A single SATA drive should perform better.

So, to the real world. Pity have not finished my article on it (would have linked to it otherwise). Disk systems for data and log files should be optimized for 64kB disk operations. That disk of yours can handle an astonishing 47 IOPS. As a guideline, a 10k tends to handle some 200 IOPS, a 15k disk approximately 250 IOPS.

So, to your questions:
    - Yes, it seems to be "normal". Few VMWare servers focused on memory and disk size, not performance.
    - You would benefit moving the database to virtually anything.
    Ole Kristian Velstadbråten Bangås - Virinco - MSSQL.no - Facebook - Twitter

Thank you! I really appreciate the input!!

Also, if anyone has anything to add about SSD + DB performance than I am all for listening!

I hear 80,000 IOPS with SSD's but does this really translate to this much of a DB improvement?

Well, SSD disks allows for a lot more IOs than regular drives, but there is a few things I would like to point out. "Regular" SSD drives are made for laptop or desktop computers, not for continuous load in a server. There are indeed SSD disks that are made for servers as well, but I'm afraid they've got quite a different pricing.