Unanswered: Remove Illigal Characaters from SQL Server 2005 Database?

I am using SQL server 2005 and one of my field in house_no as nvarchar, which contains hindi, numeric and both combination values like -
    * 2/1
    * 31/1सी
    * 3 मैन्ट भवन
    * हट मैन्ट भवन
    * 12ूूू
    * 14ु
    * ैुौ
    Now I want to delete the all illegal charterers like ू or ैुौ and many more from string and preserving rest. I have used replace() function but it is not working on hindi characters. Please suggest me the solution. My database is big nearly about 200GB and I have to replace all such characters.

I have no experience with this particular issue, and don't have a SQL Server at hand, so just a thought from me: Have tyou tried to search for the binary representation of those characters? According to Books Online the replace function allows both string and binary values.
    Ole Kristian Velstadbråten Bangås - Virinco - MSSQL.no - Facebook - Twitter

I have tried to convert these illegal character to ASCII but each hindi character return 63. eg. - ascii('ॆ')=63 and also ascii('प')=63. So I can't use it. Any other suggestion.

Provided Answers: 54
    Please describe what you mean by "illegal" characters. I'm struggling with that concept.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Ok, In hindi language consonants are like म and combination of consonant म and vowel like ै combined to makes मै and both म and मै sounds different. Now due to data-entry mistakes few entry contains ै,ु,ौ ,ू or combination of these. A alone vowel like ै,ु,ौ ,ू are useless and I call them illegal characters. Now my aim is to delete such characters or highlight such entries. For example "मैैन्ट भवन" should be "मैन्ट भवन". If its not possible then at list I want a query which can identify such entries.