Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12

    Unanswered: New Record on Parent form selection

    I have a Form (Agent) and sub form (Exception), linked by field Emp_ID (the linked field is visible in the subform and is filled in automatically when a name is selected in the Parent Form). I need the subform to open a new record with no ability to view other records. Just the current new record.

    I have tried OnLoad: GoToNewRecord
    Allow Filters: No
    Allow Edits: No
    Allow Deletions: No
    Allow Additions: Yes
    Data Entry: Yes
    Last edited by delirium; 08-22-11 at 16:14. Reason: Removed attachment

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Try

    Allow Filters: No
    Allow Edits: Yes
    Allow Deletions: No
    Allow Additions: Yes
    Data Entry: Yes
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12
    on the parent or the child form?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12
    set the child form as you recommended ... but it is still not showing a new record.

    had to set the parent form <Data Entry: No> because the parent form only pulls data from a table. could this be the issue? the child form is for data entry.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Correct... you don't want the parent form to be Date Entry, just the child form.

    Make sure the child form's underlying query allows data entry too.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12
    well i guess this is a moot point now ... i managed to lock myself out of it while futzing around with security protocols i don't understand.


    You do not have the necessary permissions to use the <name> object. Have your system administrator or the person who created this object establish the appropriate permissions for you. (Error 3033)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Oh dear. I guess you will learn the lesson of not "futzing around with security protocols you don't understand".
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12
    Hah ... I had a back-up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •