Unanswered: Excel and DB2 connectivity

Hi,

I am very new to Db2 and also VBA to an extent. Could somebody help me out with below request.

I request somebody to help me with a sample code....

Basically i have to check using CLI/ODBC driver if the connection between excel and DB2 has been established or not.

For that i plan to write a batch file where i will be calling the excel sheet which in turn will automatically execute a macro which will bring out some dummy data from sysibm.sysdummy1 table.

I require a code with which I can make a connection to my database and check if the connection has been established or not....(Probably with some explanation like code breakdown @ important palces)

Please help me with this request.. Thousand thanks in advance....

I am not very sure If I posted in the right place.. My Apologies If I had posted in wrong forum..

Provided Answers: 1

hi ni , thanks for a quick response

i needed some clarifications on the thing .

first of all i have already created a DSN using odbc connection tool in control panel. now using this dsn i would like to check if the connection has been established or not ?

I require a code with which I can make a connection to my database and check if the connection has been established or not by giving out some success message if the connection was established and a failure message if the connection was not established....

Provided Answers: 11
    SOURCE FILE NAME: dbConn.bas is an example for connect/disconnect that can be used..
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified