Unanswered: LDF file is over 215GB

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to SQL server. Everything has been running smoothly until I've seen the hard disk space. I looked into it and found that character_log_1.ldf is nearly 220GBs. This is WAY larger than the database, and I'm starting to run out of space..

I right clicked the database (named character) and went to properties, went to the Transaction Log and saw that there is a nice, tempting button that says Delete. It's not safe to delete the transaction log, right? What would happen? Would it affect the database?

I need a way to get this thing under control fast, otherwise I'm going to run out of space and that is going to cause a ton of problems..

Thanks in advance!

Provided Answers: 54
    If you don't understand what the choices for the MS-SQL "Recovery mode" are, then you need to learn about them very, VERY soon. For right now, you almost certainly want them set to SIMPLE which trades off some recovery/reliability to get back disk space.

How to: View or Change the Recovery Model of a Database (SQL Server Management Studio)

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan View Post
    If you don't understand what the choices for the MS-SQL "Recovery mode" are, then you need to learn about them very, VERY soon. For right now, you almost certainly want them set to SIMPLE which trades off some recovery/reliability to get back disk space.

How to: View or Change the Recovery Model of a Database (SQL Server Management Studio)

-PatP
    Okay, I set all of my databases to "simple". Will this decrease the size or just stop it from growing? If not, how can I decrease the whooping 200GB size.

Thank you.

Oops, my bad!