Unanswered: Mail order label creation database ??

So I volunteered (first problem ) to help out a non profit company come up with a solution to a problem. Here is a brief overview of what they are doing:

Receive letter from prisoner requesting a book.

Create a label with Name, Prisoner Number, Cell#, Prison Code, Facility, Address, Language, Date Sent, Amount sent, etc.

print labels in batches based on prison code and zip.

This should be a fairly simple database/form/report to create but I was wondering if anyone knows of a template that I could start with. I am pretty new to database systems and am not sure which to start with.

This is going to be quite the learning process but its a good cause and I'm pretty sure I can get them what I need just looking for input.

Thanks in advance.

Provided Answers: 1
    Lets begin with some terminology clarification

"I am pretty new to database systems and am not sure which to start with."

The 'database' is the 'container' which holds the data tables.
    In some of the OLD languages a data table was mistakenly referred to as a 'database. Unfortunately that term mis-use can still continue to this day.

Regardless, what you are looking to create is an APPLICATION which may or may not use a 'database'. The Application is what the users work with.
    In some languages you have to use a 'database' and in other languages you are allowed to use 'free' data tables which are not contained in a 'database'.

An APPLICATION is created in a 'language' which can acquire/write/report/etc. the data from/to data tables (in a 'database' or not).

Some examples of these languages would include, but are certainly not limited to...
    Microsoft Access
    Microsoft Visual Foxpro
    Microsoft Visual Basic .NET
    Microsoft C#
    and a WIDE selection of other languages

Some of these languages (listed above or not) are classified as a Rapid Application Development (RAD) language. However 'rapid' is a very subjective term.