Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Top X record per category

I am trying to do what should be a simple query in MS Access 2003.

I have a table that includes closing prices for the stocks of a number of companies, and I am trying to build a query to select the records for the last N days for each company. I could not get the required results by using the top N in query design, but I understand it should be easy in SQL, but I don't know SQL and tried different solutions on this board and could not get it to work.

My table consists of the following fields: CompanySymbol, Date, Price, Volume. I need the query to return the records for the last 10 days (according to the Date) for each of the companies listed under CompanySymbol.

I know, this might be a easy thing but I am new to Access and could not get it to work, so I appreciate the help.

Thank you in advance
    Last edited by nhandal; 08-27-11 at 08:48.

Provided Answers: 59
    so where does the top bit come in
    from what you are saying you want the prices for the last 10 days, as opposed to the top (whatever).

for the last 10 days the where clause should be something like

where bargaindate between (datediff("dd",date(),10), date())

if you open up the qeury designer and switch the to the SQL view you should be nearly tghere. the SQL view is usually the left most button under the menu. (3 options, run query, design or SQL)
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Quote Originally Posted by healdem View Post
    so where does the top bit come in
    top 10 rows (by date descending) per company

one company's last 10 might be within dateadd("dd",-10,date()) [note: dateadd, not datediff] and date(), but not every company will meet this criterion
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Thanks for your responses.

I should have been more clear. Let us assume the table looks like this:

CompanySymbol, Date, Price, Volume

IBM, August 1 2011, 102, 1000000