Question Unanswered: Typical Upgrade related issue.

Hello,

I am an Application Developer. I question is not specific to Oracle or any other vendor, but since I use oracle Jdeveloper Studio, I am asking in oracle section.

My question is related to 2 typical database upgrade issues that I am aware of:

1. Is there any s/w that I can use to bundle my Application SQL statements properly for fresh and upgrade type of installation ?

for e.g.: I created a database table for first release of my application. Later I modify the schema of table.
    For Fresh Application SQL bundle: whole CREATE SQL statement should be kept and for Upgrade application SQL Bundle; Only ALTER Statement should be kept for execution.
    Also that s/w should manage bundling of SQL statements according to different Upgrade versions.

2. How to handle Conflict records between parent and child table records during upgrade.
    for e.g.: for first release I shipped country and cities table with following records.
    Country
    Code:
    ID | NAME
    1      US
    Cities
    Code:
    ID  | CITY_NAME | COUNTRY_ID
    1      NY         1
    2      LA         1
    I upgrade and shipped following Cities records for 2nd release

Cities
    Code:
    3      Dallas     1
    but before upgrading to 2nd release, customer had already added following record in Cities in their database

Cities
    Code:
    3      SJ     1
    Now while upgrading, user will get INSERT conflict error as record "3" already exists.

how do we prevent from such conflicts ?

Provided Answers: 2
    INSERT INTO Cities (ID, city_name, country_id)
    VALUES
    (
    (SELECT MAX(ID) + 1 FROM Cities),
    'SJ',
    )
    Florin Aparaschivei
    DB2 9.7, 10.5 on Windows
    Iasi, Romania

Thanks,

But you think it is a easy job for hundreds of table with 100s of rows in each table ?

What I mean to ask is - what is the standard ways that you as a DBA follows to tackle such situation ?

any one please ?

Up! Up!