Unanswered: Permissions Question....

I'm working on a database that is shared on a network drive. I have Admin priv to do design, others in the office are in/out of the database while I'm working on it. Two other indvs have Admin rights as well. When either of them are in the DB, I can not go into Design view, it tells me I don't have exclusive rights. When I'm in it with exclusive rights, they can't even get in the DB at all. What do I need to change to be able to edit and work on this and still allow them to acces to view data at the same time? Is this possible?

Sorry if this is a basic question, I'm not an expert and what I do know about Access has been self taught and it's been a few years now since I really tapped into Access work.

Provided Answers: 14
    Don't open the objects of a database in design mode when it is in production and shared by other users, work on a copy. Also don't open the objects of a database in design mode when it's on a server. Many things can happen that will trouble the connection between your computer and the server and leave the database in a corrupt state. Once more, work on a local copy you open in exclusive mode and update the server when you're done.

Believe me, this will spare you several sleepless nights.
    Have a nice day!

Quote Originally Posted by Sinndho View Post
    Don't open the objects of a database in design mode when it is in production and shared by other users, work on a copy. Also don't open the objects of a database in design mode when it's on a server. Many things can happen that will trouble the connection between your computer and the server and leave the database in a corrupt state. Once more, work on a local copy you open in exclusive mode and update the server when you're done.

Believe me, this will spare you several sleepless nights.