Help with database needed

Hi There,

I am new to filemaker and am creating a database for my business. Our business involves selling cab glass for heavy machinery (jcb's etc)

Every manufacturer and model of machine has it's own record in the "Machine Models" table. Every machine has only one cab, but one cab can fit many machines. Each cab is made up of up to 10 pieces of glass (items). One piece of glass (item) can fit multiple cabs.

I have asked advice on another forum and feel like I am getting somewhere:
    Help needed with tables and relationships . Using FileMaker Pro . Forum . FileMaker Forums

My most recent revision would be to have the tables like this:

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/b...7/Tables-1.jpg

Can anyone help me out.

Thank you

modelling these sort of problems can be tricky especially if this is an early attempt
    FWIW I got around 6 tables its not trying to model precisely what you originally posted but
    optional:-Machine Types identifies the type of plant eg back hoe loader, dump truck, mini digger and so on.. not needed but can be a way of filtering your data when you have a customer who is not certain what type of machine it is
    Machine Manufacturers identifies the maker of the plant eg JCB, CASE, Kubota, Caterpillar
    Machine Models identifies a specific make of equipment eg JCB 5CX
    Model Assembly is the equivalent of your cab entity, I called it assembly in case there is other stuff that you may stock overtime. model assembly has a period from / period to to allow for a change in the components of a specific assembly over time (eg the 5CX from launch had a build X cab, in 2009 the cab was redesigned and requires a different parts list. if your manufacturers don't pull these tricks then you can eliminate the period from to and arguably fold the assembly inot the machine models table if you don't think you will ever need to support multiple assemblies for a specific machine