Question Unanswered: Database model for POI

i have a table of POI. there are around 30 million rows with 40 columns split in 3 or 4 categories (location, opening hours...)

one key variable is if the POI is a favorite one or not. 5% of these POI are favorite ones.

90% of our requests are regarding these 5% favorite POI and the remaining 10% requests are regarding the 0.95 x 30 000 000 other rows.

I have no experience in database modeling as i am a designer. My question is should i split this table in :

1) one table for favorite POI and one for not favorite POI

2) have another split per category so i get one table for favorite POI/location, one for favorite POI/opening hours... one for not favorite/location...

3) or have one table with POI_id + an index on Favorite and put all other information in 3 or 4 tables but not splitting by favorite or not favorite

I would appreciate if you guys have some guidelines ?

Provided Answers: 59
    in short no
    whether an item is a 'favourite' or not is merely an attribute of that piece of data. not convinced?
    what happens if a POI drops out of favour? do you transfer it to another table or merely remove a flag that indicates its a favourite (or vice versa).
    the potential problem that you may have is what describes a POI
    ferinstance a specific shop / commerical destiantion may well have opening hours, whereas a natural feature may or may not have opening hours. the potential way round this is to subtype the type of POI. the subtyping means you have sub tables that record the specific things that make a type of POI unique
    ie have a separate sub table for commercial POI's eg opemning hours, type of premises, have a separate sub table for, say landscapes / geographical locations. retain the parent tabel for all thats common to all the POI's (say the lat/long, description, date and so on
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

thanks for ur quick reply healdem