Unanswered: How do I stop a user from entering duplicate data into a particular field?

Hi

Can someone help me please.

I am trying to prevent duplicate data from being entered into a form. For instance, for bank account details, if that same bank account number is already in the database, then the user will be alerted and prevented from adding a new record with this data.

I am relatively new to VBA, so do not know how to code this.

Any help will be welcome.

Thank you.

Easiest way to achieve this is to:

1) Open up your table in design view
    2) Click on the field name you don't want duplicates in ('bank account number', for example)
    3) At the bottom of the screen, select where it says: 'Indexed', 'Yes (No Duplicates)'
    4) Save & exit

Now, when you try inserting 123 to a new account on your form, when account 123 already exists, an error will be displayed and the data will not be saved.

Alternatively, you could make the account number the primary key (probably a good idea anyway), which will not allow duplicates as standard.

This method isn't very thorough, but doesn't require writing any code, so will be easier to maintain for yourself.
    Looking for the perfect beer...

How do I stop a user from entering duplicate data into a particular field?

Hi kez1304

thank you for your response.

I have tried this and it works, but I would like to add a custom message, that would simply say 'Bank account number already exists'. I tried writing it in the Validation Text but that did not work as I have since figured that it only works if you have a Validation Rule.

I guess the only way is to go down the VBA route and I don't mind. Have you got any further suggestions?

Provided Answers: 14
    1. Set a UNIQUE CONSTRAINT on the column in the table definition. This is the ultimate guaranty that no duplicate values can be entered into the column, whatever happens.