Thread: Where to Start

Where to Start

Can someone please provide guidance? I want to learn to build inter/intra net based applications that include database queries etc. Im not a programmer by trade but have expertise in MS Access 2007 and SQL and have built a number of applications. One is currently being sold at Japanese Language Learning Software- Japanese Language Software| Blended Learning Sources but want to take my skills to another level. The problem is that I dont know where to begin.
    Should I use C++, .ASP, .NET, etc., etc.? Or some combination of these? I want to use/learn the latest and greatest technology.
    Guidance would be appreciated.
    Jack Kent

There are more answers to this kind of question than there are languages. Everyone has a unique set of skills, different languages offer different features, new langagues can be developed and frequently are developed when existing languages don't work well enough to suit someone that can create a new language... The possible combinations approach infinity.

You can certainly do what you want using almost any of the languages provided with Microsoft Visual Studio, and if you are comfortable with Microsoft Access there is some incentive to stay with the company/methods that you know.

You can also do what you have described using simple customizations of many of the CMS packages such as Drupal, XOOPS, and even WordPress. If you pursue this route, you'll probably want to learn CSS, PHP, and one or more dialects of SQL.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Where to Start

Pat,