Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: DB2SYSCS.EXE high CPU

    Hi can anyone point me in the right direction

    OS Version: Window NT 5.2 Service Pack 2,
    CPU: 2.7 Ghz Intel Pentium,
    Memory 2048Mb
    DB2 v9.1

    above is the spec of the server what I have is that
    - Memory used is about 980MB
    - Disk usage is very low
    - network traffic is very low < 0.5%
    - Page file usage is high about 90 %
    - CPU is pegged at 100%

    when I look at the what's Processes running I see
    DB2SYSCS.EXE at 98% cpu which is causing everything
    to run slow.

    Does anyone have any idea's as to what is happening?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by IsaarAhmed View Post
    Does anyone have any idea's as to what is happening?
    Most likely, DB2 is performing application requests.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5
    how do I find out which application is using the cpu?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    list applications - find the appl that is active
    maybe crash recovery - index rebuild... see in diag.log
    all details are online
    IBM DB2 9.5 Information Center for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by IsaarAhmed View Post
    how do I find out which application is using the cpu?
    GET SNAPSHOT FOR APPLICATIONS ON <your db name>

    For the snapshot to be useful, make sure appropriate monitor switches are ON (I'd go with locks, sorts, statements, uow). Check GET MONITOR SWITCHES and UPDATE MONITOR SWITCHES commands in the manual.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    39
    You may want to query sysibmadm.APPLICATIONS catalog view to get info
    about active application if none of the above mentioned is working for you.

    Thanks
    Naval K

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •