Unanswered: Using IF function in Access-in a table

Hello.

I am looking for a way to calculate an "if" function using Access in one of my tables.

More specifically; I have a field that users will enter a date in which a driver license update is due. I also have a field that calculates today's date automatically. I want a field that can use the if function to determine if the update is due.

For example: =if([specified field]>=today's date, "yes", "no")

Here's what I tried to enter into the default value box....=IIf(Drivers License Expiration Date>=Today's Date,"Yes", "No")....to this end, I am receiving invalid sytax errors.

I am self taught, so try not to use big words..lol

Thanks in advance!

You're not specifying the name of the fields you're trying to use in your arithmatic.

When you enter the properties of the fields, its name will be the top one (under the 'All' tab), titled: 'Name'...

If your (text?)fields are displaying "Drivers License Expiration Date", then in your IIF statement you'll need to have:

Code:
    =IIf(Drivers_License_Expiration_Date>=Today's Date,"Yes", "No")
    Failing that you'll need to change it to whatever your (text?)field is called.

You also need to 'cast' (change its datatype) to be recognised as a date, instead of a string (some text), which it is being perceived to be at the moment. So you'll want to change it to:

Code:
    =IIf(#Drivers_License_Expiration_Date#>=Today's Date,"Yes", "No")

Also, you can use an Access built in Date() function to find todays date. So something like:

Code:
    =IIf(#Drivers_License_Expiration_Date#>=Date(),"Yes", "No")

Let me know how you get on... That should work fine, but feel free to ask if you have anymore queries.
    Looking for the perfect beer...

I tried the second coding you suggested and am receiving an error message stating that the expression has an invalid date value.