Question Unanswered: MSAccess vs. Excel for a small, multi-user relational database?

Hi,
    First post at DB Forums. I'd be very appreciative for any insight you can give. I am a newbie at setting up databases, although having written a number of fairly elaborate Excel-VBA macros, I'm hoping I can come up the curve.

I am trying to determine whether a PC-based Access database is appropriate for my project. For background, I need to:
    - Track data on two types of entities: groups and individuals. Individuals belong to one group so there is a one-to-many relationship. There is no possibility of more than 5,000 individuals or 500 groups.
    - Most data is single-line text box or numeric, but would like a multiline, all-purpose notes field for each record
    - Provide access to a number of users, probably less than 25 individuals overall and rarely serving more than 5 at a time
    - Probably not heavy report usage or any heavy-duty analysis; the main virtue is giving a number of people access to structured data without the worry of multiple versions of a spreadsheet floating around.

I am currently using a spreadsheet, and I can place the spreadsheet on a shared drive to allow multiple people access. However, the volume of records, the need to deal with multiline text fields, and to deal with data on both groups and individuals is feeling too cumbersome for a spreadsheet.

My questions:
    (1) Will Access do the trick?
    (2) Can this run off of a shared drive and serve multiple users simultaneously? (Purchasing servers is out of the question - my budget is $0, but everyone has MS Access)
    (3) Will this be difficult - more difficult than, say, an Excel sheet with the same data arranged through pivottables and elaborate lookups?

Very grateful for any insight anyone can give!

Thank you,

Jeff

Provided Answers: 14
    1) Will Access do the trick?
    Yes, according to what you describe there should not be any problem