Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    13

    Unanswered: DB2 Configuration Assistant

    Hi All,

    I installed DB2 9.5 on window xp.
    I used configuration assistant to make a connection to a DB2 residing on OS/390.

    I can not enter the entire database name. The field size seems to be capped at 8 characters and the database name I am trying to connect has 11 characters.

    Is there a setting on configuration assistant to allow 11 characters on the database name field?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    The database name (or alias) cannot be longer than 8 characters.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by m39666 View Post
    Hi All,

    I installed DB2 9.5 on window xp.
    I used configuration assistant to make a connection to a DB2 residing on OS/390.

    I can not enter the entire database name. The field size seems to be capped at 8 characters and the database name I am trying to connect has 11 characters.

    Is there a setting on configuration assistant to allow 11 characters on the database name field?
    Unless you have a DB2 Connect License (which does come free on older ESE editions, but not 9.7) you will not be able to connect to DB2 z/OS.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    13
    OK.

    Let me ask another question. What is the bare minimum software needed in order to establish a connection from window 2008 server to DB2 on OS/390?

    Also, the DB2 database name is 11 characters long.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    335
    You need DB2 Connect or JDBC/ODBC Driver from another vendor.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    13
    Thank you all for your feedback.

    I ended up export the profile w/ all database connections and imported them on the new server.

    The old database connection has the 11 character database name and I was able to imported it to the new server intact.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    it is possible
    when using the command catalog dcs db you can say
    catalog dcs db newname as oldname
    oldname is the original susbsystem name and can be longer than 8
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •