Smile Unanswered: Code to access Paradox Database using Visual Basic Basic 2010 Express

Okay, so I am new to this whole Paradox database. I downloaded Visual Basic 2010 Express and made a simple Paradox table which consists of 6 fields. The database name is FirstDB.db. The path is on the root of C:\ (just to make it easier). My question is: Can anyone post the code to connect to this database and include any references which may need to be added to make this work. I have searched around the internet with no luck. Once I have the connection, I can take care of the coding I will need. The databse is not password protected, but I may protect it in the future so please include how to connect to databases which containg passwords too. Thanks in advance!

RValencia

a) never put anything like that in the root of a drive, because current Windows versions usually deny access to the root of the drive

b) in general, questions like this should go to folks who use the programming language in question, not to folks who use the table you're touching.. this is a VB question, not a Paradox question

c) and finally, in this day and age, why do you want to use a Paradox table, and open up extra issues like the Paradox net control file, Paradox locking, etc?.. the Paradox table format and the BDE have been "dead platforms" for over a decade
    --
    Steven Green - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina USA

http://www.OasisTradingPost.com

Oasis Trading Post
    - Collectibles and Memorabilia
    - Vintage Lego Sets and Supplies
    - and Paradox Support, too

VB Question

a) never put anything like that in the root of a drive, because current Windows versions usually deny access to the root of the drive

I am aware that Windows sometimes denies access to the root drive. I put the file there knowing I could access it.