Unanswered: How to click on a field in a report and go to record in form view

I'm still relatively new to creating Access databases, but have been able to construct a database with simple forms, queries, and reports without much trouble, until now.

I want to be able to click on a field (Person_ID) displayed in a report and go directly to the corresponding person's data displayed in a form I've already designed (Working Query Form), after launching the appropriate form. (Person_ID is the database's primary key.)

Any ideas for how to do this?

Provided Answers: 59
    put some code or a macro behind what ever control that opens the form / report / whatever
    persoanlly I wouldn't want to click on a textbox control, rather a command button. if you choose to uise a command button then the build event wizard should help you complete this task
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Okay, but....

I'm able to create a command button but I run into the problem of not knowing which macro command I need for going directly to the corresponding record in form view. Would it be GoToRecord, FindRecord, or SearchForRecord. None of these seem to fit exacly what I want to do.

More importantly, I'm afraid I wouldn't know how to set the condition in the macro to have it go to the appropriate record. What parameters would I need to set to create the condition tio going to a particular record?

Provided Answers: 14
    Quote Originally Posted by steelheadblj View Post
    I want to be able to click on a field (Person_ID) displayed in a report and go directly to the corresponding person's data displayed in a form
    This cannot work in a Report: Command Buttons are only "activable" in Forms.

As for going to a record in a form, here's one solution (from the Form Module):
    Code:
    Sub MoveToRecord(ByVal SomeValue As Long)

Dim rst As DAO.Recordset
        Dim strCriteria As String

strCriteria = "Person_ID = " & SomeValue
        Set rst = Me.RecordsetClone