Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10

    Unanswered: Sql developer connection

    Hi!

    I'm a beginner in databases and I'm trying to study it but I have a problem.
    I need to connect to SQL Developer from Oracle 11g just to write (and lean sql code). I don't want (and know how to) to make a reallife-working database. In fact I don't know to do pretty much nothing with Sql developer.
    My problem is that I don't know how to make a Database Connection, It say: "the network adaptor could not establish the connection".
    Could anyone tell what I should do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    What did you manage to do so far (except installing SQL Developer onto your computer)?

    Do you have a database to connect to? If not, you'll have to install one (the simplest way would be to install XE), or make sure it is available on the network. You mentioned Oracle 11g - where is it?

    By the way, did you read User's Guide?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    For those who know about it I am talking alout SQL Bible book (2003)http://www.amazon.com/SQL-Bible-Alex...f=cm_lmf_tit_2 who has a CD with a database (ACME). But in the book they use oracle 9 version installed on XP. I have a Win 7 and because oracle 9 is not compatible with win 7 I installed oracle 11g.

    That means I have a database to connect at.

    The User's Guide didn't helped me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    OK, so you installed a database. 11g on Windows 7 is perfectly OK (unless it is Windows 7 Home Edition; Oracle was never certified on any home edition).

    Can you connect to the database via SQL*Plus? That would mean that your database is up and running; SQL Developer is just another tool. Though, I don't quite understand how come that User's Guide for SQL Developer, that is supposed to guide users, didn't help at all.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    I can connect and manipulate data from database from CMD window but I want to use SQL Developer to make the process easier.

    All I'm trying to do is to figure out why I get the "the network adaptor could not establish the connection" error.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2,935
    Provided Answers: 12
    What is the JDBC URL you use in SQL Developer?
    What is the definition of the connection in your tnsnames.ora?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Does anything from this OTN Forums discussion help?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by shammat View Post
    What is the JDBC URL you use in SQL Developer?
    What is the definition of the connection in your tnsnames.ora?
    1. E:\app\montego\jdbc\ojdbc5.jar
    E:\app\montego\jdbc\ojdbc6_g.jar

    (I'm not sure if this is what you asked me)

    2. Sorry, I don't know what tnsnames.ora is. How can I find out the definition of the connection?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >All I'm trying to do is to figure out why I get the "the network adaptor could not establish the connection"
    error.

    Are OS Services for both DB & Listener running?
    Is listener running?

    post results from following OS command
    lsnrctl status

    JDBC Thin does not require or use tnsnames.ora
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    post results from following OS command
    lsnrctl status
    LSNRCTL for 32-bit Windows: Version 11.2.0.1.0 - Production on 13-OCT-2011 23:38:52

    Copyright (c) 1991, 2010, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Connecting to (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=)(PORT=1521))
    TNS-12541: TNS:no listener
    TNS-12560: TNSrotocol adapter error
    TNS-00511: No listener
    32-bit Windows Error: 61: Unknown error

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    lsnrctl start

    post results from command above
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    lsnrctl start

    post results from command above
    LSNRCTL for 32-bit Windows: Version 11.2.0.1.0 - Production on 14-OCT-2011 08:36:14

    Copyright (c) 1991, 2010, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Starting tnslsnr: please wait...

    TNS-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error
    TNS-00530: Protocol adapter error

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You have serious Operating System/networking mis-configuration issue.
    Oracle is victim; not culprit.
    root cause is external to Oracle & must be corrected at OS level.
    Installation Guide contains instructions for proper OS configuration
    Good Luck!
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    You have serious Operating System/networking mis-configuration issue.
    Oracle is victim; not culprit.
    root cause is external to Oracle & must be corrected at OS level.
    Installation Guide contains instructions for proper OS configuration
    Good Luck!
    I'll try to see what's the problem.

    Thanks all for helping me.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Some time ago you said
    Quote Originally Posted by montego
    I can connect and manipulate data from database from CMD window
    How could you have done that, regarding contents of your recent messages?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •