Thread: OUTER JOIN woes

Unanswered: OUTER JOIN woes

Hi all,

I'm new to Access and I've hit a problem that has my head spinning. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm trying to create an outer join query that displays a list of work items from a parent table and then displays the corresponding hours worked per item. It's important that I use an outer join for a step I'm going to be taking later.

The problem is that I need to filter the results by job. I've created a form with a combo box where the user can select the job for which they'd like to see the hours worked. Unfortunately, I'm having a heck of a time trying to structure the query.

Here's the SQL:

SELECT Items.Item, Items.IType, Items.IDescription, Items.[IU/M], Sum(LaborHours.LHours) AS SumOfHours
    FROM Jobs INNER JOIN (Items LEFT OUTER JOIN LaborHours
    ON Items.ID=LaborHours.ItemID)
    ON Jobs.ID=LaborHours.JobID
    GROUP BY Items.Item, Items.IType, Items.IDescription, Items.[IU/M], Jobs.Job
    HAVING (((LaborHours.JobID) = [Forms]![JobCostReport].[JC1]));

This returns the error "Join Expression not supported". If I change the LEFT OUTER JOIN to INNER JOIN, it accepts the code.

Any advice would be appreciated! Let me know if I provide any more info!

Provided Answers: 14
    Unfortunately, Access doesn't include the ability to return a full outer join between two tables. There is a solution, though. See: Full outer join in Access
    Have a nice day!

Question

Hi Sinndho,

Thanks for the reply. The website was very informative. But I'm not sure I want to do a full outer join. Ideally, it would be a left outer join nested in an inner join. The left outer join and the inner join work fine on their own, but when I combine them so that the inner join filters the outer join, I get the error message described above. Is there some way to accomplish this without a union?

Can you post the two queries that actually work when used alone?
    Have a nice day!

Sure.