Unanswered: Multiplying two fields in a form from different tables

Im new to access so I would appreciate if somene can explain me in detail.
    I have two tables 'LabIssue' and 'Store'.
    I created a form for 'LabIssue' in which data will be entered. In the form I want to calculate the 'ChemicalAmount' by multiplying 'Store.Costperunit' with the 'QuantityIssued' which will be entered by the user. ChemicalAmount and QuantityIssued will be stored in 'LabIssue' table. I tried it through the expression builder but im getting #Name? error, did alot of things but couldnt figured out whats the problem.
    Thankyou

Provided Answers: 14
    If Store.Costperunit is part of the rowset of the form (i.e. if the RecordSource property of the form is based on a query that includes both tables LabIssue and Store, you can use:
    Code:
    Me!ChemicalAmount = Me!Costperunit * Me.QuantityIssued.Value
    If Costperunit is not available among the fields in the RecordSet of the form, you have to retrieve it first, using the DLookup function for instance. Something like:
    Code:
    strCriteria = "ChemicalID=" & Me.ChemicalID.Value
    Me!ChemicalAmount = DLookup("Costperunit", "Store", strCriteria) * Me.QuantityIssued.Value
    Have a nice day!

i tried to run the second case but failed i think it is because 'Costperunit' is a column of store table and the form in which transaction will take place is based on 'LabIssue' table...so do i have to link store.costperunit with the LabIssue table.
    please can you tell me in detail how to do this? I am stuck in this...i dont know how to use Dlookup. Help!
    Thankyou

In this statement:
    Code:
    Me!ChemicalAmount = DLookup("Costperunit", "Store", strCriteria) * Me.QuantityIssued.Value
    the DLookUp expression can be read as "retrieve the value of the column Costperunit from the table Store for one row matching the criteria".