Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Aauto fill bassed on 2 other fields

Hi Everyone,

I'm trying to have a field autofill based on the data in 2 other fields, I'm fairly new to access so if you need more info don't be shy.

I have 3 tables

Table 1
    Name: (Region)
    Field: "Region Name" [key field]

Table 2
    Name: (Tax)
    Fields: "Id" (autonumber) [key field], "Region" (relation ship to table 1), "Tax Rate", "Tax Type", "Start date", "End Date"

Table 3
    Name: (Invoices)
    Fields: "Id" (autonumber) [key field], "Region" (relationship to table 1), "Delivery Date"... and several others

I have a form linked to table 3 for the invoice entry. For display purposes, I want to have a field display the tax rate in order for the system to also calculate taxes. Normally I'd do it with a =combo#.column(#) but I can't do it that simply.

Here's the problem.

In recent years we've had several tax modifications. The database already contains lots of historical data. So table 1 contains the name of 12 regions, but each region has had 3-5 tax rates over the last decades, those are detailed in table 2 and include an effective date and end date for that rate. To do the data entry I'd like the user to be able to see the tax rate used by the system and the amount. The amount isn't a problem but to get the rate out I need an autofill field that looks at the "region" and the then looks at the date to find the correct line to call up.

While I can reason the process, I can’t figure how to write the formula or query, HELP!

Anthony

Provided Answers: 14
    I guess that the row to be retrieved is the one with the most recent [Start date] for a given Region. If it's the case, you can build a dynamic query:
    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Current()

Dim rst As DAO.Recordset
        Dim strSQL As String

strSQL = "SELECT TOP 1 Tax.* " & _
                 "FROM Tax " & _
                 "WHERE Tax.Region = '" & Nz(Me.Tex_Region.Value, "") & "' " & _