Unanswered: Autonumbered Primary Keys

How can I make a primary key in Access to follow a certain pattern? For example: I have a suppliers table and the primary key column is set to autonumber, which is just incrementing from 001 and up. I would like to have it set to something like SUP002, SUP002, SUP003, and so on.

I'm just learning Access and would really like to do something a little more complicated than that, but it would be a good start if I knew where to begin modifying this setting.

Is it difficult to do that?

Thanks!

Provided Answers: 59
    yes it can be done. but ask yourself does it need to be done?
    if these numbers are all suppliers, and all prefixed by SUP, then I'd suggest you run with an autonumber solution, and if you must prefix with SUP fake it.
    each time you display the autonumber add 'SUP' to it using a fucntion such as 'AddPrefix' below, to remove the prefix use a function such as stripprefix below. also consider if you actually need 'SUP' by definition the vlaue in that column must be a SUPplier. a vlaue in the customer column must be a CUStomer. its perfectly possible that a CUStomer may also be a SUPplier and you wouldn't want to have two items identifying the same organisation. you could have one table with organisations in and a couple of boolean flags such as IsCustomer and IsSupplier, or an intersection table qualifying what type of interaction you have with this organisation
    eg
    Code:
    table: organisation
    ID PK
    ...stuff relevant to the organisation (address, switchboard, name)
    table: InteractionTypes
    Type  PK
    Description
    table: OrganisationsInteractions
    OrganisationID }
    IteractionType } PK