Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 127 Font Size

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    45

    Unanswered: 127 Font Size

    I tried searching for a thread that tries to solve the problem but i guess there's no easy solution for this one. But still i wanna ask, is there an easy way for me to bypass the 127 font limit to access? Thank you. (=

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    I doubt it, most limits in Access are immutable, but why in the world would you want to use a size larger than 127? That maximum already makes any type set look horrible.
    Last edited by Missinglinq; 10-25-11 at 21:14.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    45
    hi Missinglinq.Thank you.

    i made a queing system for our transaction area. With a use of a lcd monitor, I want to make the database visible even from a far. The Font elephant is the most suitable font that i have seen but the thing is the font size, though its ok, i am thinking if its still possible to enlarge it more. Thats it, thats the reason. (=

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    I would suspect the font size is going to be a hard limit in Access
    however what you coudl do is
    either
    write a custom control (not for the feint hearted)
    or
    create images the size of font you want, and display those.
    that would mean you'd need 11 images:- 0..9 and :
    5 image controls and load the required image into the image control as required
    assuming the image background was transparent that should also work your flashing image requirement

    traditionally san serif fonts are regarded as being the easiest to read. so that might mean you'd be beter off using an Arial, Courier and so on.

    if you do go down the route of using images then a mono spaced font would make more sense
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    45
    omg healdem, i think am gonna have a nosebleed with what you said. I think thats a little to much with what i know with ms access... probably it would take years for me to master the this and that of access. I guess ill stick with the 127 font limit of access for the meantime. But still i wanna learn more. Do you have any link so i could read more on how to do your suggestion?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    no its not difficult, it shouldn't give you a nosebleed.
    all you do is fire up a suitable graphics program.
    create a separate graphic for each symbol you need to display, at whatever size you need. remember to also do a blank image.
    save those graphics in a specified directory, can be anywhere, but it should be visible to any/all people using this display

    then in your access form, create as many image controls as symbols you need to display

    as part of your timer routine select which image to display
    lets assume you have 2 displays and want to allow upto 2 symbols in each display
    so we will create 4 symbols image place holders
    Display1Tens, Display1Units, Display2Tens, Display2Units

    you are storing your values to display in two integer variables
    Display1Value, Display2Value

    then write a function, called say SetImage with the follwoing parameters
    ..the display control for tens and units, the value to display

    Code:
    public sub SetImage(DisplayTens as object,DisplayUnits as object,Value as string)
      'use a sub as we don't want a return value
      'sub routine to set the controls (DisplayTens & DisplayUnits) with large size symbols
      'hit this problem beacuse Access doesn't support bigger than 127 point font sizes
      Dim NoTens as integer
      if (Value) >0 then
          if (Value) >9 then 'we are displaying two symbols 
            NoTens = int(Value/10)
            DisplayTens = FindSymbol(NoTens)
            Value = Value - NoTens*10
          else
            DisplayUnits.image = "path\to\blank.imageextension"
          endif
          DisplayUnits = FindSymbol(Value)
      else 'there is nothign to display so blank the image
        'we could hide the image control, but that may take more time
        'to enable or disable the control each time
        DisplayUnits.image = "path\to\blank.imageextension"
      endif
      switch case DisplayUnits
    end sub
    
    function FindSymbol(value as integer) as string
      'finds what symbol should be used.
      select case (Value)
      case 0: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol0.imageextension"
      case 1: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol1.imageextension"
      case 2: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol2.imageextension"
      case 3: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol3.imageextension"
      case 4: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol4.imageextension"
      case 5: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol5.imageextension"
      case 6: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol6.imageextension"
      case 7: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol7.imageextension"
      case 8: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol8.imageextension"
      case 9: FindSymbol = "path\to\Symbol9.imageextension"
      default: FindSymbol = "path\to\ProblemSymbol.imageextension"
      'I like to see that if there is a problem That problem is visible at runtime
      'so I'd want to display, say, an exclamation mark to indicate the code has hit a glitch.
      'its always a good idea provide a value for all possible states in a case, if or whatever statement
      end case
    end function
    then in your timer / countdown / whatever code call the sub routine

    Code:
    SetImage(Display1Tens,Display1Units,Display1Value)
    SetImage(Display2Tens,Display2Units,Display2Value)
    however the above is air code
    its not been written inside Access, its not been tested, its been made up on the fly
    so it will almost certainly have some bugs in
    I may well have used the incorrect properties for the image controls, heck I can't remember if Access uses image or picture controls

    natch you wodl need to replace variable and control names with the controls in your form
    bear in mind "path\to\Symbol0.imageextension" shoudl also be changed to suit your application
    say your images were stored
    on a server called \\MyAppServer
    in a directory called say AccessApps\images
    you used my namingconvention for the images
    and you used graphics files ending with png.
    "path\to\Symbol0.imageextension" would become
    "\\MyAppServer\AccessApps\images\Symbol0.png"

    however the code itself is pretty straightforward
    it looks complex if you are new to VBA, but it really only doing a limited process. with a given value assign a graphical representation of the value to two image / picture controls
    Last edited by healdem; 10-27-11 at 04:55.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    45
    OMG! thank you so much healdem for this much information. I was amazed really that you explained it very clearly. Am trying it now. Hoping i could do this one.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •