Unanswered: Group summing and updating the same column

Hello, I'm new to MS SQL and I'm trying to do some simple query to do a total then update the same column but getting the following error:

"Subquery returned more than 1 value. This is not permitted when the subquery follows =, !=, <, <= , >, >= or when the subquery is used as an expression.
    The statement has been terminated."

I have a 'fee' column and I would like to the get the sum on the WBS1 level. (There's a WBS2 sub level, WBS1 is the sum of WBS2).

I can get the select statement working simply to show the desired final result by running the following query:

Select wbs1,
    wbs2,
    sum(PR.Fee) as 'total_fee'
    from PR
    Where PR.WBS2 = ' '
    and PR.status = 'A'
    group by PR.WBS1, PR.WBS2
    order by WBS1, WBS2

That'll give me something like this:
    wbs1 wbs2 total_fee
    05-001 1353821.0000
    05-054 565658.0000
    05-097 468399.0000
    05-117 373500.0000

But when I try to update the same fee column with the following query:

update PR
    set Fee = (select sum (Fee) from PR
    Where PR.WBS2 = ' '
    and PR.status = 'A'
    group by PR.WBS1
    )
    from PR

I got the mentioned error. Is there a way to sum up and update the same column?

Thank you for any input!

Mike
    Last edited by micjay22; 10-27-11 at 16:41.

Provided Answers: 4
    Code:
    update U
    set Fee = (select sum(PR.Fee) 
    		from PR
    		Where U.WBS1 = PR.WBS1
    			and PR.WBS2 = ' '
    			and PR.status = 'A'
    		)
    from PR as U

start situation:
    WBS1	WBS2	Status	Fee
    05-001	' '	'A'		10
    05-001	'Q'	'Z'		100
    05-001	' '	'A'		1000
    06-000	'Z '	' '		10000

result UPDATE will be:
    WBS1	WBS2	Status	Fee
    05-001	' '	'A'		1010
    05-001	'Q'	'Z'		1010
    05-001	' '	'A'		1010
    06-000	'Z '	' '		NULL

result after running UPDATE again:
    WBS1	WBS2	Status	Fee
    05-001	' '	'A'		2020
    05-001	'Q'	'Z'		2020
    05-001	' '	'A'		2020
    06-000	'Z '	' '		NULL