Unanswered: Access vs Filemaker and security

I'm a new member (first post!) and have also recently taken up a position as a Data Administrator. I have some, very limited, Access experience: I can create tables, records and forms and use simple query wizard but have never done scripts or macros etc and have no programming skills. The company I have just joined uses a mixture of Access 2003 and Filemaker 10 (which I have NO experience of) and want to merge their various databases into one large database and are unsure if they should go down the Filemaker or Access route and have asked me to research which is better.

Currently they store the databases on an internal server. Only a select number of people can access the server and then there is a single username/password used by everyone to access each database. This causes various issues as only one person can be accessing the file at a time . The people using the database probably have about the same amount of experience as me (i.e. very limited!) and so the database is certainly not meeting the full potential of probably any database software. The database is likely only going to be used in one building so there will be no external/internet publishing.

So... what database would suit our needs better? Or does it really not make a difference since we are not reaching it's full potential? It would be nice for us to have the room to move though.

Secondly, which database would be more secure with the set-up we are using? Am I right in thinking that Filemaker would be better as it offers field level control? It also seems far easier to create new user accounts in Filemaker.

Lastly, to solve the "only one person can open it at a time" issue, do I just have to actually create multiple usernames and get people to use those instead of the generic admin account they have been using ?

Provided Answers: 59
    only omne person at a time should not be a problem for a well designed Access db.