Unanswered: Can this be done in MySQL?

First, I should say that I am a complete novice with mysql. I have been using it for years with websites and know how to change records, upload, download, etc., but I don't anything about creating syntax to perform tasks. Please pardon my ignorance.

I have a task that I need to get done. I used MS Excel to create a spreadsheet of all the cities in the US and then put phrases with them. I've got like 20,000 rows.

But I have like 450 rows on another sheet that need to be inserted below each row while simultaneously duplicating the existing data.

EXISTING
    spreadsheet 1 (contains 20,000 rows)
    row 1 - johnson alaska
    row 2 - thompson alaska
    row 3 - smith alaska
    row 4 - zebulon alaska
    etc to 20,000

spreadsheet 2 (contains 450 rows)
    row 1 - football
    row 2 - baseball
    row 3 - golf
    row 4 - basketball
    etc to 450
    ===========================
    But need to have it look like this...

row 1 - football johnson alaska
    row 2 - baseball johnson alaska
    row 3 - golf johnson alaska
    row 4 - basketball johnson alaska
    etc to 450

row 451 football thompson alaska
    row 452 baseball thompson alaska
    row 453 golf thompson alaska
    row 454 basketball thompson alaska
    etc to 900

etcetera...

Does this make sense? I couldn't find a simple way to do it in Excel, and I'm not well versed in their macros.

I figured mySQL might be the answer.

I'm sorry to ask this, because I know this is me basically asking for free help, but I am just completely stuck.

Can anyone show me a query that can get this done in mySQL? Thanks for any help you can provide.

yes you can do this with mysql -- it's called a cross join

load your two sheets into two separate tables, then do this --
    Code:
    SELECT table1.city
         , table2.spamword
      FROM cities AS table1
    CROSS
      JOIN spamwords AS table2
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Thanks!