Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Updating fields in another record/table, from current record/table

Been a while, but I need some help with updating some fields in a record in a different table, from a record in the current table i am working in.

The short version. I have a table "Master" that lists all of our equipment; unit number, unit description, current lcoation, arrival date, driver. The other table "LogTable" contains the trucking schedule of that equipment; unit number, unit description, going to, coming from, driver and scheduled transport date. I would like to "update" the records in Master when a transport is marked completed (with a combo box, using the after update event), sending it the current position, date and driver of the record I just marked completed. I have the following SQL statement worked out, but it updates every record I have in LogTable. Is there a way to only update the current record I am working with? Guess I am just looking for a little help with the wording of this statement.

DoCmd****nSQL "UPDATE Master INNER JOIN LogTable On Master.UnitNumber = LogTable.UnitNumber Set Master.CurrentLocation = LogTable.From, Master.ArrivalDate = Date(), Master.Driver = LogTable.Driver"

A little vague, I know. I can post more info if needed.

Provided Answers: 6
    You need to add a WHERE clause. This would get a numeric value from the form:

DoCmd****nSQL "UPDATE Master INNER JOIN LogTable On Master.UnitNumber = LogTable.UnitNumber Set Master.CurrentLocation = LogTable.From, Master.ArrivalDate = Date(), Master.Driver = LogTable.Driver WHERE KeyFieldName = " & Me.KeyFieldName
    Paul

pbaldy! You helped me with a home brewing database about 4 years ago, still use it to this day! Funny to have your help again! Thanks!

On to the keyfieldname, I am having trouble with referencing that. Do I need to reference it like WHERE Master.UnitNumber = " & Me.UnitNumber? And for the less informed, what to the quotes and ampersand mean?