Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19

    Unanswered: DB2 Error: SQL1084C. (Log included)

    Hey all, I've been having this issue for a while now, and getting it multiple places, but now when I try to Connect to a database inside Control Center, I get an SQL1084C error. Our DB2 server is virtual, but should have plenty of power. 2x X5680 @ 3.33GHz and 8GB of RAM. Our level of DB2 is v9.5.201.346. Here is the db2diag.log:



    2011-11-21-08.07.29.414000-360 I1H1113 LEVEL: Event
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, RAS/PD component, pdLogInternal, probe:120
    START : New Diagnostic Log file
    DATA #1 : Build Level, 128 bytes
    Instance "DB2" uses "32" bits and DB2 code release "SQL09052"
    with level identifier "03030107".
    Informational tokens are "DB2 v9.5.201.346", "s080911", "WR21421", Fix Pack "2a".
    DATA #2 : System Info, 1564 bytes
    System: WIN32_NT xxxxxx-DB2-SVR Service Pack 1 6.0 AMD64 Family 6, model 44, stepping 2
    CPU: total:2 online:2 Cores per socket:1 Threading degree per core:1
    Physical Memory(MB): total:8047 free:5091 available:3029
    Virtual Memory(MB): total:16337 free:12629
    Swap Memory(MB): total:8290 free:7538
    Information in this record is only valid at the time when this file was
    created (see this record's time stamp)

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.414000-360 E1117H974 LEVEL: Warning
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, Self tuning memory manager, stmmCalcAutoScaleFactor, probe:100
    MESSAGE : Current DB configuration exceeds free INSTANCE_MEMORY. Self-tuning
    memory manager resetting automatic memory consumers to default
    values.
    DATA #1 : unsigned integer, 4 bytes
    663158784
    DATA #2 : unsigned integer, 4 bytes
    638910464
    DATA #3 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    4096000000
    DATA #4 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    3176136704
    DATA #5 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    396427264
    DATA #6 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    82897211
    DATA #7 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    313530053
    DATA #8 : Decimal, 8 bytes
    -1

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.414000-360 I2093H1019 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, SQO Memory Management, SqloMemController::registerConsumer, probe:1000
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x8B0F0000=-1961951232=SQLO_NOMEM
    "No Memory Available (reason code is id of requested heap)"
    DIA8300C A memory heap error has occurred.
    DATA #1 : String, 60 bytes
    Insufficient instance_memory to allocate new memory consumer
    DATA #2 : String, 11 bytes
    DB-xxx_39
    DATA #3 : Requested size, PD_TYPE_MEM_REQUESTED_SIZE, 4 bytes
    663158784
    DATA #4 : Current instance_memory consumption in bytes, PD_TYPE_MEM_INSTANCE_CUR, 4 bytes
    3699769344
    DATA #5 : Maximum allowed instance_memory in bytes, PD_TYPE_MEM_INSTANCE_MAX, 4 bytes
    4096000000

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.414000-360 I3114H745 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, SQO Memory Management, sqlogmshr, probe:149
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x850F0005=-2062614523=SQLO_NOSEG
    "No Storage Available for allocation"
    DIA8305C Memory allocation failure occurred.
    DATA #1 : String, 8 bytes
    xxx_39
    DATA #2 : String, 56 bytes
    Insufficient INSTANCE_MEMORY to allocate new memory set.
    DATA #3 : numChunks, PD_TYPE_NUM_CHUNKS, 4 bytes
    10119

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.414000-360 I3861H951 LEVEL: Warning
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqeLocalDatabase::FirstConnect, probe:1516
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x850F0005=-2062614523=SQLO_NOSEG
    "No Storage Available for allocation"
    DIA8305C Memory allocation failure occurred.
    DATA #1 : String, 286 bytes
    Failed to allocate the desired database shared memory set.
    Check to make sure the configured DATABASE_MEMORY + overflow
    does not exceed the maximum shared memory on the system.
    Attempting to start up with only the system buffer pools.
    Desired database shared memory set size is (bytes):
    DATA #2 : unsigned integer, 4 bytes
    663158784

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.430000-360 I4814H1019 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, SQO Memory Management, SqloMemController::registerConsumer, probe:1000
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x8B0F0000=-1961951232=SQLO_NOMEM
    "No Memory Available (reason code is id of requested heap)"
    DIA8300C A memory heap error has occurred.
    DATA #1 : String, 60 bytes
    Insufficient instance_memory to allocate new memory consumer
    DATA #2 : String, 11 bytes
    DB-xxx_39
    DATA #3 : Requested size, PD_TYPE_MEM_REQUESTED_SIZE, 4 bytes
    602537984
    DATA #4 : Current instance_memory consumption in bytes, PD_TYPE_MEM_INSTANCE_CUR, 4 bytes
    3699965952
    DATA #5 : Maximum allowed instance_memory in bytes, PD_TYPE_MEM_INSTANCE_MAX, 4 bytes
    4096000000

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.430000-360 I5835H744 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, SQO Memory Management, sqlogmshr, probe:149
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x850F0005=-2062614523=SQLO_NOSEG
    "No Storage Available for allocation"
    DIA8305C Memory allocation failure occurred.
    DATA #1 : String, 8 bytes
    xxx_39
    DATA #2 : String, 56 bytes
    Insufficient INSTANCE_MEMORY to allocate new memory set.
    DATA #3 : numChunks, PD_TYPE_NUM_CHUNKS, 4 bytes
    9194

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.430000-360 I6581H866 LEVEL: Severe
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqeLocalDatabase::FirstConnect, probe:1718
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x850F0005=-2062614523=SQLO_NOSEG
    "No Storage Available for allocation"
    DIA8305C Memory allocation failure occurred.
    DATA #1 : String, 202 bytes
    Failed to allocate the minimum possible database shared memory set.
    There is insufficient system resources to allocate the database
    shared memory set.
    Minimum database shared memory set size is (bytes):
    DATA #2 : unsigned integer, 4 bytes
    602537984

    2011-11-21-08.07.29.430000-360 I7449H583 LEVEL: Severe
    PID : 3036 TID : 4368 PROC : db2syscs.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : xxx_39
    APPHDL : 0-26887 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.111121140729
    AUTHID : ADMINISTRATOR
    EDUID : 4368 EDUNAME: db2agent (xxx_39)
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqeLocalDatabase::FirstConnect, probe:20
    RETCODE : ZRC=0x850F0005=-2062614523=SQLO_NOSEG
    "No Storage Available for allocation"
    DIA8305C Memory allocation failure occurred.
    Last edited by daGGoth; 11-21-11 at 10:42.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19
    Just from doing some reading, it looks like we don't have any Bufferpool's set for our databases. We have 10 active databases on this one server. When i go to a database and right click on the Buffer Pools folder, I only get a Create option. Is this something that needs to be set?

    Whenever I click on Create, I receieve this error: [IBM][JDBC Driver] CLI0613E Program type out of range.
    SQLSTATE=S1003

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    You have a 32 bit OS, which can only address 4GB of RAM. Giving it 8GB is just wasting half of it as it will never be used. Of that 4GB, DB2 can only use about 2.7GB. My guess is that you think you are using 8GB and have created your various heaps to use that much, but you actually only have 2.7GB which you have exceeded.

    Andy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    You have a 32 bit OS, which can only address 4GB of RAM. Giving it 8GB is just wasting half of it as it will never be used. Of that 4GB, DB2 can only use about 2.7GB. My guess is that you think you are using 8GB and have created your various heaps to use that much, but you actually only have 2.7GB which you have exceeded.

    Andy
    But were running Server Datacenter 64bit with SP1

    But were also on 9.5, not 9.7. Would that make a difference?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by daGGoth View Post
    START : New Diagnostic Log file
    DATA #1 : Build Level, 128 bytes
    Instance "DB2" uses "32" bits and DB2 code release "SQL09052"
    with level identifier "03030107".
    Informational tokens are "DB2 v9.5.201.346", "s080911", "WR21421", Fix Pack "2a".
    DATA #2 : System Info, 1564 bytes
    System: WIN32_NT FIDATA-DB2-SVR Service Pack 1 6.0 AMD64 Family 6, model 44, stepping 2
    CPU: total:2 online:2 Cores per socket:1 Threading degree per core:1
    Physical Memory(MB): total:8047 free:5091 available:3029
    Virtual Memory(MB): total:16337 free:12629
    Swap Memory(MB): total:8290 free:7538
    This clearly shows that DB2 is 32 bit. V9.5/V9.7 does not matter. Whoever set up your virtual server made it 32 bit.

    The reason you have no bufferpools, is you made them too big to fit into 2.7GB.

    Andy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    This clearly shows that DB2 is 32 bit. V9.5/V9.7 does not matter. Whoever set up your virtual server made it 32 bit.

    The reason you have no bufferpools, is you made them too big to fit into 2.7GB.

    Andy
    Humm, Alright. Thanks man..

    So... I understand someone setting up the VM wrong. I can deal with that.

    But I don't quite understand what you mean about the bufferpools. You said "we made them too big to fit into 2.7GB"

    Could you explain that a bit more? I am a DB2 virgin so I'm trying to learn everything I can.
    Last edited by daGGoth; 11-21-11 at 10:55.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Bufferpools are where DB2 does all of the work processing requests against the database. They are created whenever that database starts, along with 4 very small system (hidden) bufferpools. If a bufferpool is defined to be too big to fit in the current available memory, it will not be created and the tablespaces that were assigned to it will be assigned to one of the tiny hidden bufferpools.

    You have 10 databases all wanting memory and all are restricted to run in the 2.7GB of memory available. That is only 270MB per database.

    Andy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    Bufferpools are where DB2 does all of the work processing requests against the database. They are created whenever that database starts, along with 4 very small system (hidden) bufferpools. If a bufferpool is defined to be too big to fit in the current available memory, it will not be created and the tablespaces that were assigned to it will be assigned to one of the tiny hidden bufferpools.

    You have 10 databases all wanting memory and all are restricted to run in the 2.7GB of memory available. That is only 270MB per database.

    Andy
    Alright, Thanks! This is something I can work with at least. I'm just going to have to figure out how to prove the server is 32bit even though its a 64bit os.

    Even under System Information its reporting x64-based PC.

    But under System Summary, Installed RAM is 7.86GB, but Total RAM is only 3.86GB, yet Available Physical RAM says 5.18GB..
    Last edited by daGGoth; 11-21-11 at 11:12.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What OS is the VM?

    Andy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Also what DB2 edition are you using?

    Andy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    What OS is the VM?

    Andy
    Windows Server 2008 SP1 x64bit.

    I got more information on the previous server. The original server was a physical x32 server, and it was virutalized and imported into a x64 environment. So even though the server is x64 bit, DB2 is only seeing x32 bit. Looks like were just going to build out a new server and export/import the databases.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    Also what DB2 edition are you using?

    Andy
    v9.5.201.346 Build level s080911

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by daGGoth View Post
    v9.5.201.346 Build level s080911
    Which edition is this? (Enterprise, Workgroup, Express, Express-C)?

    Andy

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    Which edition is this? (Enterprise, Workgroup, Express, Express-C)?

    Andy
    Ugrh, not sure. How can I tell?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Try:

    SELECT * FROM SYSIBMADM.ENV_PROD_INFO

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •