Unanswered: Do Programmers Really Use The Leszynski Method?

Again, I'm pretty new to Access programming, but I want to make sure I establish good habits from the start. I was reading in one of my books about the Leszynski Naming Convention, and wondered if it is a common practice? I haven't observed anyone using it in my office, so I wanted to get a sense from others if it was a worthwhile habit to adopt.

Provided Answers: 59
    its up to you
    it is useful to know what the datatype is of a variable, or what type of control you are using. however I suspect the main (claimed) advantages are superseeded as intellisense has improved in the IDE.
    it can be useful if you have a series of similar sounding variables /names
    I wouldn't prefix tables (tbl), queries(Q), forms(frm)or reports (rpt)
    I think that's a step to far.

don't be tempted to use such a naming convention with a table. if you must use LNC in your code, then develop your own table/column definition standards. most would suggest a table should be the plural of the objects it contains
    eg Orders, OrderDetails, Addresses, products
    don't then prefix the columns within those tabels with the table name
    eg Orders, might have ID, Description, Value but not OrderID, OrderDescription, OrderValue.
    why? its superfluous information. if you need to know whether its an Order wahtrever, just look at the table. if you fully qualify for column names in a query its starts to look very odd
    eg
    SELECT orders.orderid, orders.orderdescription from orders
    as opposed to
    SELECT orders.id, orders.description from orders

if the column is a foreign key to another table then by all means refer to the table there
    eg use CustomerID in Orders to identify that the column is a customer id derived from the customer table