Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    43

    Red face Unanswered: DB2 DataBase Autometically disconneting after 30 mins

    Hi all

    Thanks in advance

    I have a small problem am connecting to my database normally but after 30 mins its disconnecting autometically if i didnot work on that database. but , i want continuos connection to that DB (because am testing the automatic maintenance on this database). Pls suggest me how to over come this situation or pls tell me how to set the cron job to connect the database every 25 mins with example code.

    DB2 V9.7.3
    AIX 6.1


    Thanks & Regards
    Siddhu.Pandu

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Why not just ACTIVATE the database?

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    43
    andy am trying to do that but it says like this
    SQL1493N The application is already connected to an active database.
    db2 ? SQL1493N


    SQL1493N The application is already connected to an active database.

    Explanation:

    The ACTIVATE DATABASE and DEACTIVATE DATABASE commands cannot proceed
    because the application is already connected to a database.

    User response:

    Disconnect from the database then re-submit the command.

    Andy pls tell me what is the difference between connect and activate db commands
    Thanks and Regards
    Siddhu

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    A database is either Active or Inactive. If it is Inactive, it is not taking up resources (memory) on the server and no one is accessing the data. A database can become active by one of two ways. Either the ACTIVATE database command is issued, or when the first connection occurs. When a database becomes active, all of the heaps and bufferpools are allocated. This can take some time, which maybe undesirable when connecting to the database for the first time. The ACTIVATE DATABASE command will bring up the database and allocating heaps and buffperpools so that the connections do not experience the delay of bringing up the database if it is the first connection. If a database have been ACTIVATEd, it will remain active even when the last connection ends.

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    43
    Thanks and ANDY Thanks you very much

    i activated the database but at this time also my databse getting disconnected after completion of 30 mins pls tell me how to over come this situation


    Thanks and Regards
    siddhu

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Can you elaborate on just what is happening? Are you saying that you successfully issued ACTIVATE DATABASE and then 30 minutes later it is no longer activated without any further activity?

    Andy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    87
    is there any errors or warnnings in the diag.log ?
    have you checked ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    246
    Quote Originally Posted by siddhu.pandu0854 View Post
    andy am trying to do that but it says like this
    SQL1493N The application is already connected to an active database.
    db2 ? SQL1493N


    SQL1493N The application is already connected to an active database.

    Explanation:

    The ACTIVATE DATABASE and DEACTIVATE DATABASE commands cannot proceed
    because the application is already connected to a database.

    User response:

    Disconnect from the database then re-submit the command.

    Andy pls tell me what is the difference between connect and activate db commands
    Thanks and Regards
    Siddhu
    the error says tht ur already connected to db its not disconneted, when u doubt tht ur disconneted execute this command and chk

    get connection state

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    43
    Hi all

    There is no error msgs in diag.log file. Actulally what happpnening is
    db2 connect to <db-name> working normally without any errors and warnings also am working on this db properly without any problem. main problem is if i will not work on this db upto 30 mins then its going to disconnected when am continue the work then its in connected state only.

    am getting following msg then disconnected to the database
    db200001@kcmstr02>
    Shell will time out in 60 seconds.
    ksh: Timed out waiting for input.
    kcmstr02:/# (Wht does it mean ?)

    Here again i have to login to instance to connect the database to work any thing on that . pls guide me to solve this ........


    Thanks in advance

    Thanks & Regards
    siddhu

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    84
    Provided Answers: 2
    The message indicates that you are automatically disconnected from AIX session. It has nothing to do with DB2 session. Go thru following link for details regarding changing timeout settings for AIX session.

    AIX V6.1 Remote Login Session Management


    Satya....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •