Looking For A Way To Track Programming Progress

Hey guys and gals! I'm not only new to this community, I'm new to programming in general. The company I'm with has me started on Access and VBA. Problem is I'm new to programing and I'm having a rough time determining my progress. My managers keep saying "when you get it you'll know it", and maybe that's the right answer, but I wanted to get a second opinion. Higher level I understand what's going on, but I'm just struggling with syntax and know what all the features are and how to use them. I'm a numbers guy, and I want to be able to track my progress somehow, am I "getting it" or not. I'm about a month and a half in, and I still feel so overwhelmed by everything. So is there a gauge to measure my progress against, or will I just know it when I get it?

I just checked your programming progress gauge, and you are at a solid "2". Good job, keep up the hard work.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Bear with me for a paragraph.

The first widget is hard because it is your first widget. The second widget is hard because it isn't your first widget. The third and subsequent widgets are just variations on the theme, so bring them on!

I always used to say this about learning new programming languages. Then I discovered it applied to methodologies (structured programming, OOP, RAD, declaritive, etc).

As I got a bit more experienced, I discovered it applied to project scopes: personal, group, enterprise, public, etc. It also applies to positions: Newbie, Staff, Lead, Manager, etc.

It will take you a while to get to that third stage in each group. For exactly the same reasons as it did in the previous group! That seems to be human nature.