Unanswered: Lookup & Autofill Town & County

Hi,

Can anyone help me at all, I have an access database with a Table that contains The first 4 digits of a UK postcode, Town & County it relates to.

I would like to be able to type a postcode in a form and have the Town and County auto fill with the info from the table.

Does anyone know how I do this, simple terms please as I am a newbie at this.

Shazz
    xx

Provided Answers: 59
    there's several threads started by jackjsmith88 who has a similar problem. although it may be that his design isn't right for you

what you need is a postcode database
    if you want the town and country (although county is apparently no longer needed according to the post office) then you need all of the incoming code and the first digit of the outgoing code. FWIW UK postcodes are arranged in two blocks the first block comprises the major sorting office and delivery office, the next block identified by a leading space is 3 characters the first is a number which identifies the town. the final two characters identify a specific delivery location. however you do need the extra two digits if you want the fine location details

there's some 28 million odd postcodes in use so building up your table reliably may take considerable time. Ideally you should subscribe to the PAF (Postcode Address File)
    you can get downloads of the incoming code identfying the major sorting office for free, but getting reliable data for the first element of the outbound code is tricky.

back to you app
    depends what you want to do , how you want to access the data
    you could build a list or combo box dynamically
    ie when you add a record, populate the list box with the 124 major sorting offices AB..ZE
    once you encounter the first numeric value, then requery the list box with the delivery office part eg BT01...BTxx