Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: DB2 replication - no Apply working and no error messages

    Hello
    I have set up DB2 SQL-replication. DB2 version on my Capture server is 9.5.x, on Apply server I have DB2 9.7.5. OS is Windows 2008 R2 on both servers.
    After setting up the replication I have done manual full refresh with this article:
    https://www-304.ibm.com/support/docv...id=swg21221699

    The Capture program works fine - no errors in logs, CD-tables are populating with data. But the Apply program doesn't copy the data from Capture server. The Appeal trace file contains no errors. The Apply log file contains such messages:
    2011-12-11-01.26.23.656000 <CPREST(01/00)> ASN1044I APPLY "REPL_QLF" : "WorkerThread". The Apply program will become inactive for "0" minutes
    and "50" seconds.
    ...
    2011-12-11-01.27.13.656000 <CPREST(01/00)> ASN1044I APPLY "REPL_QLF" : "WorkerThread". The Apply program will become inactive for "2" minutes
    and "0" seconds.

    2 minutes of Apply inactivity indicate that Apply should work fine, because it's the Apply frequensy I have set. If Apply gets error then it should sleep for default 5 minutes.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by Dronis; 12-10-11 at 18:31.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    check if the subscription sets are active
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    The subscription set is active.

    Additional information:
    When I select "Show final delay time" (sorry for a bad translation from Russian to English) in the context menu of Apply qualifier in Replication Center and then click Refresh button, I see that Delay Time grows by 120 at each next line of the report.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    if capture is filling cd tables - gocap has been set..
    there must be a setting in subscription_sets that stops apply
    start apply from command line and if needed with trace-option to see more details
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Shen Zhen,China
    Posts
    37
    ps -ef|grep REPL_QLF
    db2 "SELECT APPLY_QUAL, SET_NAME, ACTIVATE, STATUS, REFRESH_TYPE,SLEEP_MINUTES, LASTSUCCESS, SYNCHTIME FROM ASN.IBMSNAP_SUBS_SET with ur "
    db2 "SELECT max(SYNCHTIME) AS SYNCHTIME, CURRENT TIMESTAMP AS CURRENT_TIMESTAMP FROM ASN.IBMSNAP_REGISTER WHERE GLOBAL_RECORD='Y' with ur"

    paste the result to here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by przytula_guy View Post
    if capture is filling cd tables - gocap has been set..
    there must be a setting in subscription_sets that stops apply
    start apply from command line and if needed with trace-option to see more details
    What is apply trace-option? Post an example of asnapply command with trace-option here, please. I didn't find any trace options in asnapply command reference here:
    SQL Replication - asnapply: Starting Apply

    Now I use such command to start Apply from command line:
    asnapply CONTROL_SERVER=OK95 APPLY_QUAL=REP_QL1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    I believe the option : trcflow
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by wolaos123 View Post
    ps -ef|grep REPL_QLF
    db2 "SELECT APPLY_QUAL, SET_NAME, ACTIVATE, STATUS, REFRESH_TYPE,SLEEP_MINUTES, LASTSUCCESS, SYNCHTIME FROM ASN.IBMSNAP_SUBS_SET with ur "
    db2 "SELECT max(SYNCHTIME) AS SYNCHTIME, CURRENT TIMESTAMP AS CURRENT_TIMESTAMP FROM ASN.IBMSNAP_REGISTER WHERE GLOBAL_RECORD='Y' with ur"

    paste the result to here.
    ps is not a Windows cmd command, but when I open "Check status" of my problem Apply qualifier I see 2 threads (HoldL and "work"), while on a system with well operating replication I see 3 threads (HoldL, "work" and "control").
    First SQL result:
    REP_QL1 REP_SET1 1 0 R 2 2011-12-13 15:09:50.127 2011-12-10 18:03:50.127
    Second SQL result:
    2011-12-13 15:12:04.0 2011-12-13 15:12:16.07

    Quote Originally Posted by przytula_guy View Post
    if capture is filling cd tables - gocap has been set..
    there must be a setting in subscription_sets that stops apply
    start apply from command line and if needed with trace-option to see more details
    I have launched such command:
    asnapply CONTROL_SERVER=OK95 APPLY_QUAL=REP_QL1 trcflow > log.txt
    The log is attached here. I see such confusing lines in it:
    R1NES: No eligible named event subscription at this moment
    R1RTS: No eligible relative timer driven subscription at this moment
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    the first setting I see :
    DISABLE_REFRESH = 1 in register table
    it can not do the full refresh because this is disabled
    have you verified that the cd tables are filling
    because full refresh is needed before capture starts capturing in cd-tables
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    I have done manual full refresh. If Apply needs full refresh and DISABLE_REFRESH = 1, then Apply writes error messages to log and trace (I have faced it), but my trace has only a record about compilation date, Apply log contains no errors too.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Shen Zhen,China
    Posts
    37
    --------------------------------
    src reg info for mem (13)
    --------------------------------
    GLOBAL_RECORD = N
    SOURCE_OWNER = BRRUSER
    SOURCE_TABLE = CLASS3
    SOURCE_VIEW_QUAL= 0
    SOURCE_STRUCTURE= 1
    SOURCE_CONDENSED= Y
    SOURCE_COMPLETE = Y
    CD_OWNER = CD_TABLES
    CD_TABLE = CDCLASS3
    PHYS_CHANGE_OWNER = CD_TABLES
    PHYS_CHANGE_TABLE = CDCLASS3
    CD_OLD_SYNCHPOINT IS is 4ee361f10000005e0000
    CD_NEW_SYNCHPOINT IS is 4ee604ae000000080000
    DISABLE_REFRESH = 1
    CCD_OWNER =
    CCD_TABLE =

    CCD_OLD_SYNCHPOINT is null
    SYNCHPOINT is null
    SYNCHTIME is null
    CCD_CONDENSED is null
    CCD_COMPLETE is null
    ARCH_LEVEL = 0801
    DESCRIPTION is null
    BEFORE_IMG_PREFIX is X
    CONFLICT_LEVEL is 0
    CHG_UPD_TO_DEL_INS is N
    STATE is A
    RECAPTURE is N


    SOURCE_SERVER = OK95
    SOURCE_ALIAS = OK95_SRC
    TARGET_SERVER = OK95
    TARGET_ALIAS = OK95

    both capture and apply are running on the same database?

    SOURCE_OWNER = BRRUSER
    SOURCE_TABLE = APP_CAUSE
    SOURCE_VIEW_QUAL = 0
    TARGET_OWNER = BRRUSER
    TARGET_TABLE = APP_CAUSE

    and source=target table?

    what aboutX:\Replication_logs\REP_QL1.RI say?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by wolaos123 View Post
    --------------------------------
    src reg info for mem (13)
    --------------------------------
    DISABLE_REFRESH = 1

    SOURCE_SERVER = OK95
    SOURCE_ALIAS = OK95_SRC
    TARGET_SERVER = OK95
    TARGET_ALIAS = OK95

    both capture and apply are running on the same database?

    SOURCE_OWNER = BRRUSER
    SOURCE_TABLE = APP_CAUSE
    SOURCE_VIEW_QUAL = 0
    TARGET_OWNER = BRRUSER
    TARGET_TABLE = APP_CAUSE

    and source=target table?

    what aboutX:\Replication_logs\REP_QL1.RI say?
    I have done manual refresh, using IBM's guide, all previous times it worked (https://www-304.ibm.com/support/docv...id=swg21221699).
    Apply and Capture are running on different databases, placed on different servers, but databases have identical name. Database OK95 from source server is cataloged on targer server as OK95_SRC.
    Source and target tables have identical names.
    REP_QL1.RI is empty.
    REP_QL1.TRC has only a record about Apply program compilation time.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •