Unanswered: trigger to Insert records in the same table

I am new in SQL, we have vairous user defined fields, so when the user insert new value to this field , i want new records (other user field to get populated) be inserted relevant to the inserted value FROM another table (lookup)

This field is a drop down list , after insert committed , i want other user defined field to populate/

Scenario. Drop down is a list of users, after selecting and updating then i want contact details of the above selected user be pupolated.

CREATE TRIGGER User_Defined_field_KAE
    ON [dbo].[AMGR_User_Fields_Tbl]
    AFTER
    INSERT

AS

INSERT INTO [dbo].[AMGR_User_Fields_Tbl]
    (Client_Id,
    Type_Id,
    name
    SELECT
    Client_Id,
    '1089',
    A.USER_PHONE_1
    FROM inserted , [dbo].[ADMN_User_Details] as A
    WHERE name = a.user_id;

Provided Answers: 4
    There is no need to copy all those USER attributes to the PHONE table. In a relation database you must only enter those data once, in a User table record. Later, by JOINing the USER and PHONE tables together, you can show the name of the user next to his Phone numbers.

Your problem with that trigger vanishes as soon as you live by the rules of a relational database.
    With kind regards . . . . . SQL Server 2000/2005/2012
    Wim

Grabel's Law: 2 is not equal to 3 -- not even for very large values of 2.
    Pat Phelan's Law: 2 very definitely CAN equal 3 -- in at least two programming languages

Don't know what others think about triggers, but I think of them as the GOTO statements of SQL. In my mind, they are there for the rare, rare occurance when you need to do something that just can't be done any other way.