Unanswered: Multiply Two Tables (sort of)

Hi,

I am new to access, but have significant excel/vba experience. I am using access because my dataset is very large (150k rows x 139 columns) and excel cannot deal with it.

I have two tables I have imported into access. One table has the many rows and 139 columns, the other table has factors I would like to multiply each corresponding columna and entry with. So I have found that I can accomplish this by creating a select query and multiplying the columns (i.e. Apr-00: [Apr-00]*[03/04/2011]), but I have to do this for 124 out of the 139 columns. Is there some way I can do this in SQL without having to type out that formula 124 times?

As an example:

Table 1:
    Company Jan Feb Mar Apr...
    x .1 .2 .3 .4
    z .1 .2 .3 .4
    a .1 .2 .3 .4
    s .1 .2 .3 .4
    r .1 .2 .3 .4
    (150k rows)

Table 2:
    Company Jan Feb Mar Apr
    z 150 100 200 300
    x 150 100 200 300
    s 150 100 200 300
    a 150 100 200 300
    r 150 100 200 300
    (Has as many rows as there are individual company names in Table 1)

Desired Result:
    Company Jan Feb Mar Apr
    x (150*.1) (100*.2) (200*.3) (300*.4)
    etc...
    z
    a
    s
    r

I have created a relationship between the tables (option 2: Include ALL records from Table 1 and only those from Tabl2 where the Company fields are equal

Appreciate the help.
    Last edited by ManticoreX; 12-23-11 at 08:41.

Provided Answers: 59
    almost certainly
    but you will still have to do some typing
    and we would need to know details of the data model (table design), but from what you've suggested so far I suspect it will be a frightmare
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Hi Healdem,

Just edited my post, was that more what you were looking for? I can't see this being easy! but at least it may prove to be a good lesson in SQL (I know a bit).

Appreciate the help

ok so what you need is a join between the two tables
    a join could look like
    Code: