Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    25

    Unanswered: Unable to connect to Oracle10g XE Home page after installation

    Hi Folks,

    I'm unable to connect to Oracle10g XE Home page after installation. I have tried the installation several times, but it remains the same.

    The error while connecting: http://127.0.0.1:8080/apex/ : "cannot display the webpage". Also I'm not able to connect to SQL command prompt line.The window vanishes without any error.

    Quick help will be greatly appreciated.

    Regards,
    Vikrant Bishnoi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    ensure that OS Services for both the DB & listener are running.

    open Command Window & issue following OS commands

    lsnrctl status
    lsnrctl service

    COPY commands & results then PASTE all back here
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    25
    Please find below the result of OS commands :

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Vikrant>cd/

    C:\>lsnrctl status

    LSNRCTL for 32-bit Windows: Version 10.2.0.1.0 - Production on 24-DEC-2011 01:25
    :55

    Copyright (c) 1991, 2005, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Message 1053 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facility=TNSTNS-125
    57: Message 12557 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facility=TNS
    TNS-12560: Message 12560 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facili
    ty=TNS
    TNS-00527: Message 527 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facilit
    y=TNS


    C:\>lsnrctl service

    LSNRCTL for 32-bit Windows: Version 10.2.0.1.0 - Production on 24-DEC-2011 01:27
    :22

    Copyright (c) 1991, 2005, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Message 1053 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facility=TNSTNS-125
    57: Message 12557 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facility=TNS
    TNS-12560: Message 12560 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facili
    ty=TNS
    TNS-00527: Message 527 not found; No message file for product=NETWORK, facilit
    y=TNS


    C:\>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    you need to be logged onto the OS as same user who owns the Oracle software
    before issuing the 2 commands again
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    25
    Couple of days back I have tried to install the Linux OS on my m/c, but due to the unavailability of free partition space, I revert back the installation. From then, I'm accessing my m/c today only & this problem arises.

    I have provided the same username & password for the OS login & Oracle10g XE installation.

    Kindly suggest how to proceed further.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    25
    My SQL command prompt line is opening , but I'm not able to connect to Oracle 10g XE Database.

    The error is :
    ORA-01034: ORACLE not available
    ORA-27101: shared memory realm does not exist

    I have checked for the solution on the forum, but didn't able to understand it (It was refering to the SGA allocation & Environment variable ORACLE_HOME & ORACLE_SID)

    Need Quick Help !

    Vikrant

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    You tortured the computer (Linux up & down, database up & down) and this is the way it responds now.

    I'd suggest you to start over - create a backup copy of your data, reformat the hard disk, install the operating system (choose one you know how to use), install Oracle XE. Its installation is really easy, just a few "Next" clicks away and I have no idea how could anyone fail to install it.

    Then return here if you still have problems.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14

    error : 01033 : oracle intialization or shutdown in progress

    I have a similar kind of problem . I can't login to oracle adminitrator. Im using oracle 10g xe. In order to connect to netbeans 7.0.1 , i tried to change the port number from 8080 to 1521 using sysdba privileges, then tried to access the oracle database by url http:/127.0.0.1:1521/apex ... but could not . The browser error was : could not locate the server. then again I changed the port number back to 8080 . Although it didnt work. Also im unable to access/log on to oracle database using SQL command line.
    The error shown is :
    ORA-01033 : oracle initialization r shutdown in progress

    please tell me how to resolve this problem.
    Your effort will be highly appreciated

    thanking you

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >ORA-01033 : oracle initialization r shutdown in progress
    can be corrected by doing as below

    open Command/Terminal Window then do EXACTLY as below (line by line)

    sqlplus
    / as sysdba
    shutdown abort
    startup

    COPY the results from above then PASTE all back here
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14

    ORA-01033 : oracle initialization or shutdown in progress

    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    >ORA-01033 : oracle initialization r shutdown in progress
    can be corrected by doing as below

    open Command/Terminal Window then do EXACTLY as below (line by line)

    sqlplus
    / as sysdba
    shutdown abort
    startup

    COPY the results from above then PASTE all back here
    here are the results :
    >sql plus
    Enter user-name : / as sysdba

    Connected to:
    Oracle Database 10g Express Edition Release 10.2.0.1.0 - Production

    SQL> shutdown abort
    Oracle instance shut down.
    SQL> startup
    Oracle instance startup.

    Total System Global Area 805306368 bytes
    Fixed Size 1289996 bytes
    Variable Size 213909748 bytes
    Database Buffers 587202560 bytes
    Database mounted.
    Database opened.
    SQL>

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scrshot.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	51.1 KB 
ID:	14196

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    now you should no longer get the ORA-01033 error, but you may now get other/new error
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by anacedent View Post
    now you should no longer get the ORA-01033 error, but you may now get other/new error
    Thanks for the prompt reply .
    Actually , u r correct . I no longer get this error ... while I can connect to the database using SQL command line .

    But still I cant access the database by using the url- http:\127.0.0.1:1521\apex .

    I have now changed the port number back to 1521. Also , I changed the url address of database_homepage in its properties window to new one(above mentioned url) ... But browser can't open the database. Please help recover this problem.

    Thanking you

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    post complete results from OS command below

    emctl status dbconsole
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    I can't login to oracle adminitrator (...) then tried to access the oracle database by url http:/127.0.0.1:1521/apex
    I'd say that you don't know what you are doing.

    What "Oracle administrator" are you talking about? "Apex" in URL you posted suggests that you are trying to connect to Application Express.

    As long as 1521 might be a listener port used by your database, Apex expects HTTP port, which is - by default - set to 8080 and URL that *might* be correct looks like http://127.0.0.1:8080/apex/ or http://127.0.0.1:8080/apex/apex_admin (which connects you to Apex administrator service).

    So, if you could explain what you expect as a result of that operation, someone might be able to provide assistance.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Littlefoot View Post
    I'd say that you don't know what you are doing.

    What "Oracle administrator" are you talking about? "Apex" in URL you posted suggests that you are trying to connect to Application Express.

    As long as 1521 might be a listener port used by your database, Apex expects HTTP port, which is - by default - set to 8080 and URL that *might* be correct looks like http://127.0.0.1:8080/apex/ or http://127.0.0.1:8080/apex/apex_admin (which connects you to Apex administrator service).

    So, if you could explain what you expect as a result of that operation, someone might be able to provide assistance.
    Thanks for ur response. Ur concern is appreciated.
    It seems you took my doubt in a different direction. The 'apex' thing has nothing do with it. I just had to stop the server and start it again , and everything works fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •