Newbie with a question/concept!

Hi all,

As the title implies, I am a newbie when it comes to databases. I have no real knowledge of any of the various languages. However, I have an idea that I was curious about, mainly to see if it is possible to construct. Here are the parameters or circumstances if you will:

The database will contain sale prices of routes for various zip codes across the country. In addition it will also contain the state, # of stores, type of stores serviced (will only have 3 choices in this category), sales multiple, weekly and yearly gross, and date of sale.The database itself, I would think, is easy enough to construct given the right knowledge and required information.

My question is this, and it really has 2 parts; First can this database be integraded into an existing website and be made searchable. For example: A buyer/seller could search by zip code all of the route sales in that area over the past 6 months, search by state, gross income, etc and have only that information displayed. Secondly, is there a way to take the queried(sp?) information and display in graphic form, in addition to a table?

I'd appreciate any and all help/responses!
    Thanks,
    TechnoBabble28
    Last edited by TechnoBabble28; 12-28-11 at 18:00.

Yes, the database can be incorporated into a website and any data you have in the database can be queried. If you have gross income in your database, and that can be tied somehow to a zip code or a route, then the query can be written.

I'm not sure what you mean by displaying the information in graphic form. If you mean displaying a dot, a chicken, or a hot dog for each route found that is simple. If you mean can a route be drawn onto a map, that can be done but it is a significantly larger challenge. You'll have to explain what you mean in a bit more detail before I can answer this question for you, but someone else might have more understanding and be able to answer right away.

-PatP