Unanswered: Please answer my complete noob question =)

I want to make a simple database that would greatly help me easily reference my notes I have for writing some books. I have 2 years of notebooks that I have been jotting down ideas and now that its time to put pen to paper I do not want to miss any of the ideas I had. The notes are not in any order so I need to get some kind of method to the madness.

What I am looking for in a database is fairly simple, I think. I will give an example of what I am looking for so it's easier to understand.

Let's say I wanted to make a db of all the comic book characters, vehicles, etc. I want to have one area that I would be able to write a description of Superman for example. Then in that row I would want to do maybe a series of checkboxes like "Marvel", "DC", "character", "vehicle", "alien" etc. I was thinking anywhere from 30-60 checkboxes.

Then I would want to be able to list the entries via each checkbox. Like it I wanted to pull up all the entries that I checked "Marvel" for I could. Also could I pull up entries that have "Marvel", "vehicle" and "villain" checked.

Is this something I could create w/ access or could I step down to Excel. Is there any templates out there that are close to what I am looking for? Anyone have any ideas to better accomplish what I am looking for?

Any ideas/help I get will be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Provided Answers: 14
    Here's how I would do it:

1. Create a table for the "items" you want to document with at least 2 columns:
    a) ItemID, Autonumber, Primary Key.
    b) ItemName, Text.

2. Create a table with all the "attributes" ("Marvel", "DC", "character", "vehicle", "alien", etc.) with also 2 columns (at least):
    a) AttributeID, Autonumber, Primary Key.
    b) AttributeName, Text.

3. Create a junction table with also 2 columns (at least):
    a) FK_Item Number (Long), Foreign Key to the "items" table.