Question Unanswered: Access 2007 newbie - need advise for my first database

Hi all,

I'm new to Access and to this forum, but in a short time have developed a passion to learn about and use MS Access. I am using version 2007.

I've developed two tables in Excel and imported them into Access.
    The file attached is a "test" model, as the real file contains close to 10,000 entries.

I'm looking for ways to make the reporting easier. Some things I am struggling with are custom reports.
    For example, I will often need tailored reports which only show the data for "Location = Building 1", or when "Location = Building 2" AND "Construction = Yes".
    With my limited knowledge, the only thing I can do is create individual queries and link each query to its own report. This would result in hundreds of queries and reports, so I believe there must be an easier way to do this...

Also, is there a possibility to create data reports with a graph or pie chart embedded in them?

Looking at the sample data, are there any things I might want to change structurally to the database to make it more useful? I am open to any suggestions. Please keep the explanation simple
    Attached Files Attached Files

Provided Answers: 14
    From the database you posted, it's hard to provide advice. The db only contains two tables: no explanation on the business it's supposed to modelize, no relationships, no queries, no forms, no reports, no modules. However:

1. You'd better stay away from including spaces or other non-alphanumeric characters in the names of objects in your database, don't use reserved words either. See for instance:
    Microsoft Access Naming Conventions
    Microsoft Access Naming Conventions - D. H. D'Urso and Associates
    Naming Conventions for Microsoft Access

2. I know that memory and disk drives are cheap these days but there is no reason for defining almost every column as Text(255).