Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Create type in db2 8.2

Hi,

I am new to db2. I have worked a bit upon db2 9 on WINORA server. And now shifted to db2 8.2 on AIX server.
    I am facing problem while creating user defined type in db2 8.2, which was not the case in db2 9.
    For e.g. in db2 9, I used -
    CREATE TYPE strArray as VARCHAR(20) ARRAY[100];

While I come across a bit of change in command for creating type in db2 8.2, which I came to know from IBM's site itself, and here it is -
    CREATE DISTINCT TYPE strArray as VARCHAR(20) ARRAY[100];

But it's not working out. I checked with Privileges (especially for CREATING TYPE) for my db2 user and db2 schema with this following information -

Authorization
    The privilege set that is defined below must include at least one of the following:

The CREATEIN privilege on the schema
    SYSADM or SYSCTRL authority
    The authorization ID that matches the schema name implicitly has the CREATEIN privilege on the schema.

Privilege set: If the statement is embedded in an application program, the privilege set is the privileges that are held by the authorization ID of the owner of the plan or package.

If the statement is dynamically prepared, the privilege set is the privileges that are held by the SQL authorization ID of the process. The specified distinct type name can include a schema name (a qualifier). However, if the schema name is not the same as the SQL authorization ID, one of the following conditions must be met:

The privilege set includes SYSADM or SYSCTRL authority.
    The SQL authorization ID of the process has the CREATEIN privilege on the schema.

After giving these required privileges.. Still I am stuck up with the same problem in db2 8.2 with the following error, which is perfectly working on db2 9..

ERROR: A character, token, or clause is invalid or missing.

DB2
    SQL Error: SQLCODE=-104, SQLSTATE=42601, SQLERRMC=CREATE
    or replace TYPE;BEGIN-OF-STATEMENT;<create_type>, DRIVER=3.57.82