How would you handle this situation?

I am the only the only database administrator/analyst for my 1,500+ member employer. I have about 10 years of experience as a dba, but have only been with this company for a little under a year.

One of the more senior members of the company that is outside of my office, department, and chain of command asked me to create an MS Access Database specifically for his department. I cordially told him no and politely explained that we have a more robust solution with our IBM DB2 and SAP Business Objects implementation that corporate has dictated we use and that I would be more than willing to help him utilize it.

Months go by and I get occasional calls wondering why his department's work isn't showing up in the db. I check everything, there is no issue with our DB2 database or even the API he and his office would use to input their data...

A few days ago, I find out he decided to go ahead and have one of the people in his department build a ms access db anyway. Now, I am receiving non stop calls and emails about their ms access database failure and his office expects me to promptly fix it.

I take one look at it and it is a complete mess...and 95% of the information in the database is already housed in the consolidated DB2 database that he was asked to use to begin with!

I have informed my boss, who has said that he would talk to him about it, but hasn't even after several subtle reminders...

Should I take the bull by the horns and roll what relevant information there is in his ms access db into the DB2 db and delete his?

I get the feeling that his resistance to using the API for the DB2 database is because he is unfamiliar with it as we have recently rolled out our new system back when I was hired on. His office (as well as this company) has always had a series of disjointed ms access databases that is always out of sync with every other department in the company...